I may only have one, but its big and shiny


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tow BallTow BallTow Ball

A bit swollen?
It's been over three months since I've updated this, I really don't know where the time has gone.

We spent the night under canvas in the Empty Quarter, been "Brunching" in Dubai (I now know why so many people in Dubai don't have any money) and even had our photo published in Abu Dhabi Weekly while attending a networking event, although the hospitality was so good I can't remember any of the connections I made.

The Salam Street upgrades are progressing, they open an underpass which frees up the traffic for a few days, then cone off three of the lanes creating a new bottle-neck. It's supposed to be finished by the end of the year, but I can't see it myself.

It's far quicker and less stressfull for me to take the new Skeikh Khalifa Highway across Saddiyat and Yas Island, past the airport and then track back to Musaffah than it is to drive down Salam Street, even though it adds 24km to the journey. I don't know how much more or less fuel I'm using, wasting it stuck in stop-start traffic, or doing the extra miles, nor am I bothered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ParkingParking
Parking

Innovative parking solution
Salam StreetSalam Street
Salam Street

Compare this with the view from 2006 Cut and paste this link: http://www.travelblog.org/Photos/295165
MilkMilk
Milk

New bottle - to jazzy?
Sunset in the Empty Quarter.Sunset in the Empty Quarter.
Sunset in the Empty Quarter.

You could actually hear the theme from "Lawrence of Arabia"at this point
Pulled OffPulled Off
Pulled Off

Pulled off, by Toby this time
NoviceNovice
Novice

Stuck again


27th May 2010

Big and shiny
Are you sure the photo is not an optical illusion? The ball hitch is normal size, but the car is a dinky toy? How did you pitch up the tents in the sand?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb