Day 29 & 30 Stragglers leaving, and going home


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 29 - final day, and home
I shared my first, and final night with the lovely Renske. I had qUnite a good nights sleep, but was dreaming about the weight of my backpack, and will it make it onto the plane! Maybe it was more of a nightmare..lol. In my dream it made it, so I am hopeful!

This morning after breakfast, Renske and I said goodbye to Jess. Now just me and Renske left. I leave at 12.00 lunchtime for Hanoi airport. I have come out for a final iced coffee at my favourite coffee bar. I walked in circles for an hour and a half, but couldn't find it! After the amount of times I have been there I am disappointed in my self. I finally gave up and came to Le Pub! ...... LOL

Unbelievable..... I even got lost coming back from Le Pub to the hotel.......I think I am having a senior moment, or two, today! I had to get a tourist information person to do me a map! And that's after 4 weeks of doing the walk regularly!!

It is 13.35 Vietnam time. I am sat in Hanoi airport. My flight leaves at 16.05, so I do have a bit of a wait. I have just spent the last of my dong on water and nibbles for the journey, more peanut and sesame brittle and I finally got a pack of the crisps that Nadia has been enjoying for the last four weeks.



I was soooooo happy with the check in. My dream was spot on. My bag weighed in at 18.5 kg....yayyyyyy. I was worried about that, but trusted my dream! The second bonus is that she has sent my luggage through to Manchester as high priority so that I don't have to wait at the end. I am enjoying the air con as the humidity is really high today.



First flight delayed by half an hour. It seemed like such a long wait in the airport. Flight only one and a half hours, soon over! When I arrived in Bangkok there was a man waiting to rush us through to the connecting flight due to the delay; so we were rushed straight through and more or less straight onto the flight to Abu Dhabi. It is 4am Vietnam time, but only 1am Abu Dhabi time, as the clocks have now gone back 3 hours! Waiting to board the final flight to Manchester. I am starting to feel it now so will probably sleep through the next flight.



Mark has sent messages to confirm that he will be at Manchester, so it looks like I will get home in one piece.

I think i am nearly all blogged out. I am busy writing my final summary for something to do whilst waiting, which will be my final blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb