Home and Final Thoughts


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
March 8th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I am home (in Canada).

As I noted in an earlier entry, my trip was a series of seat sales (involving different airlines). My flight from home to Frankfurt return was with Air Canada, but my flight into Turkey was not, and Air Canada does not have a desk or office in Turkey. So I had to wait until I got to Frankfurt in order to explore my options.

We landed a little bit late - about 8:15 German time - after our three hour flight. You need to clear passport control on arrival, and re-enter security if you are making a connecting flight. In my case, I had to clear passport control, enter the country, pick up my luggage and sort out where Air Canada was in order to see about changing my ticket, and/or find somewhere else to head to for a week. Understand that Frankfurt is a major hub and lots of flights arrive early in the morning so it is very very busy at passport control - I know my son was worried about making his 10AM flight to Alberta!

Anyway, I mosied along, expecting to be spending a day or more in the area if I didn't head to some warm beach. The ladies at Air Canada were extremely helpful and offered to change my ticket for a flight to Toronto leaving at 10AM that day (in a little over 45 minutes!). I wasn't really expecting that, but suddenly it sounded good and so it was a done deal. I had to get re-ticketed, checked in, (which was very quick) and then head through security (always a mess, but much much MUCH MUCH more organized, thorough and QUICKER than Pearson International in Toronto). I reached my gate just as they were boarding. I had a row to myself and before I knew it we were in the air. We were just ahead of a massive storm that was blowing in, which shut down the airport that afternoon and caused loss of life across France, Spain and Belgium.

I arrived at my home, after almost 24 hours of travel, in time to watch the celebrations (and re-plays) of Sidney Crosby's goal.

Over the past week I have slept and slept, and am now open to whatever happens next. The winds of change are strong.

Random Thoughts and Observations:
- It was a wonderful 5 weeks, and I can't tell you how much fun it was having company along the way. I think I will make this a part of all of my travels from now on - so if you know me, be prepared to be pitched about meeting up with me on an upcoming journey.

- I saw lots of security in my travels, in a way that we are not accustomed to in North America. For instance, it is a little unnerving (to me at least) to see a very young looking local policeman with an AK 47 under his arm. We saw this sort of thing in a mall, or at a museum, in addition to a transport hub like an airport. Nevertheless, I also saw a young-ish woman argue with a security guard at an airport in Turkey, over the large scissors he found in her bag. She gave him heck, put them back in her purse, and marched into the departure lounge while he meekly put his head down and went back to scanning......

- At the airport in Marrakesh I saw a dashing young military sort in full gear patrolling the public areas with his gun and german shepherd. It would have been a little intimidating watching him strut along except for the fact that the dog was incredibly happy and kept jumping up to lick his handler's cheek - we had a moment when he saw me smiling and he grinned and shook his head. And patted the dog, who wagged furiously. Back to the training plan I think.

- I think that was the only happy animal I saw in my entire time in Morocco. If you love animals and want to travel there, you will need to brace yourself. It is very sad and disturbing - a complete contrast to what we observed in Turkey.

- I realized how good it was to be home when I found a Saturday G&M in the Toronto airport on Sunday when I landed and got all excited (I'm a hopeless geek). I had carried the crossword puzzle from an earlier January edition on my travels until just before Turkey when I threw what was left of it in the recycling bin. It was a bit of heaven to pull it out in some foreign land, and attempt to solve a few clues over a coffee....

- I realized I was indeed back in Canada when the pilot on my last flight kept giving updates on the Canada-US gold medal game over the intercom. And the passengers would break out in cheers - or oohs. When I landed in my hometown the entire airport - staff, security, and passengers heading out as well as those who were picking up folks - were crowded around a tv in the main public area (with no one through to security😊), watching the game.

- Has anyone resolved the "what shoes do I wear/bring" when travelling light, dilemma? Shoes are generally heavy and bulky, so bringing a pair other than the ones on your feet is normally not do-able. I travel pretty low-end, so no need for fancy high heels - I need comfy and servicable - but honestly. After a few weeks it is not pretty, and the ones I wore are definitely ready for the incinerator. All suggestions gratefully received!

- This trip was a different one for me (not that I have had lots of trips!). It was pretty full on with lots of moving around. That is why we decided to have an extra day in the Selcuk area. The place we stayed there is normally not my cup of tea at all, but it was perfect at that moment - park it and no need to make any plans or decisions! Because I do travel a little lower end, it is nice to treat yourself along the way every now and then - and get upgraded to an executive suite on occasion too!

- I thoroughly enjoyed travelling with my son! He is great company, curious and has a wonderful and quirky sense of humour. Which he definitely needed when, at the above noted accommodation, his mother tried to get the air conditioning working by pushing a button that actually cut all power to the room. After which she collapsed helplessly in gales of laughter leaving him to sort it all in the pitch dark (yes, I was punchy). There was a wedding reception or something similar going on downstairs at the time, with a live band, and cutting the power timed perfectly with the end of a song so for a minute we thought I had cut power to them as well. Embarrassing mother moments never end, it seems.

- A great big thank you to those of you who read this blog and sent me little emails along the way. It meant an awful lot.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb