Mediteranian journey has begun! Starting in Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
September 17th 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Turkey!
This time Carla is hosting me through her cruise in the Mediteranian. Starting in Istanbul, we see many things such as the famous Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. Crossing on a ferry across the Bosphorus Strait, which defines the edge of two continents of Asia and Europe.

The journey continues on to Ephesus (the Library of Celsus) and Izmir (the House of Virgin Mary), and tomorrow we will head out to Greece. The Santorini Island, to be exact. I will update you with my pictures once we reach the beautiful island.

Meanwhile, enjoy the pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Welcome to TurkeyWelcome to Turkey
Welcome to Turkey

At least I can prove myself that I am legally entering Turkey. Here I am sitting at the Istanbul's Ataturk International Airport immigration.
Bosphorus StaitBosphorus Stait
Bosphorus Stait

On a ferry across from Europe to Asia.
Blue MosqueBlue Mosque
Blue Mosque

I'm taking a small break in a nice quiet spot at the famous Blue Mosque. Tourist-less!
Blue MosqueBlue Mosque
Blue Mosque

I found a nice resting place on Carla's shoulder. It is a hard task to fly around Istanbul, after all, and most birds are forbidden inside a mosque.
Virgin Mary's HouseVirgin Mary's House
Virgin Mary's House

Here I am in front of statue of Virgin Mary, in a location where she is believed to live after Christ's departure.
Library of CelciusLibrary of Celcius
Library of Celcius

I always find a nice niche to escape the hot Turkish sun.
Library of CelsusLibrary of Celsus
Library of Celsus

Well, this is an obligatory shot in front of the Library of Celsus facade.


Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb