Day 4: Kas, Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Kas
September 25th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Camping again….but it has finally started to warm up.



Kas is a tiny little seaside resort off the Western Mediterranean Coast of Turkey. This was going to be our midway stop between the town of Selcuk and Olympos. We arrived there sometime in the late afternoon, leaving us with some sun to enjoy the pebble beach by our campsite.

I haven’t mentioned this previously - but the weather in Turkey hasn’t been entirely favourable to us - ranging from very cold, rainy & wet to smatterings of sunshine since the start of the tour. It doesn’t help that I had only packed for extremely hot weather and have spent most of my time thus far wearing the only long sleeve cardigan every day for the last week & a half (Yes - I have made some attempts to wash it during this time, but only just).

Unfortunately the campsite was full so there was going to be no opportunity for to get away from it. I was going to be camping tonight!! I went in search of what I thought would be the best area to pitch my tent. In my absolute wisdom - I picked a location
Lunch is served...Lunch is served...Lunch is served...

This is how we have lunch when on tour....Gourmet sandwiches (?)
full of pebbles (to be fair - the whole area was covered in pebbles. I was trying to pick the area with the least amount of pebbles). Although I didn’t realise this at the time - I had also inadvertently picked the slanty side of the hill and as a result I eventually spent the rest of my night rolling out of my sleeping bag, whilst trying to get a decent nights rest on my very pebbly bed.

After being on the go for over a week it was a pleasant change to finally stop and soak up the atmosphere, swimming in the ocean and watching the tourists & the locals go about their day. Later that evening we went as a group to our first dinner in a proper restaurant and for some free time to wander around the town.

As we sat enjoying our dinner, we would get accosted by little old women attempting to sell us a selection of mixed herbs or old men with their carts of fresh almonds sitting on a bed of ice for a couple of lira. We also heard the nightly call to prayer from the various mosques lining the
The Thisle BushThe Thisle BushThe Thisle Bush

It was necessary to take this photo. These very sharp bushes grow everywhere and add a pleasant surprise if a roadside toilet stop is required - Not!!!
town - their loudspeakers blaring out their somewhat hypnotic chant as we ate. As I sat and listened to the various sounds it almost seemed as if every mosque was signalling a different chant, like competing vendors offering different luring techniques to get visitors into their store. I’m sure they are all the same - but nevertheless I was unable to understand or fully differentiate the subtle differences in the chants.

After dinner we all dispersed and spent some time meandering around the town looking through the shops of tourist souvenirs, filled with Turkish carpets, hanging lamps, pottery, plates and the ever present selection of ‘evil eye’ amulets. It was such a relaxing way to spend the rest of my evening (especially given what was awaiting me in my tent later that evening). The streets were lined with little cafes filled with tourists drinking tea or having dinner. The atmosphere was subdued and laid back - there were none of the usual tourist touts selling you another carpet or pashmina or forcing you into their store with another cup of Turkish (or apple) tea.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Camping againCamping again
Camping again

My tent is the one in the middle. You can already see it slanting & on a bed of wonderfully soft pebbles.
Just for additional proofJust for additional proof
Just for additional proof

See it is me....Just to prove that I did set up my tent & am sleeping in it.
A chance for a swimA chance for a swim
A chance for a swim

Here I am - swimming in the red sea with Kate
Some shoppping perhaps?Some shoppping perhaps?
Some shoppping perhaps?

Some lovely jewelery on display


Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb