Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
September 24th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Istanbul was a city of great contrasts. You could stay in modern expensive western style hotels, then go to the souk and buy a cup of leaches for whatever blood-letting needs you may have. The history is staggering and I can't do it any justice. For this reason there are a ton of sites to visit. I personally limited my run around and took things slow (like always.) During this trip I can also say that I first stepped foot in Asia. I can now say I've been to North America, Central America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. Only South America, Australia, and Antarctica left! I'll have to save those for another trip I suppose. I leave you with some pictures....


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Souk CheeseSouk Cheese
Souk Cheese

Notice how the large round white cheese is wrapped in animal hide. Mmmmm.
Cistern 3Cistern 3
Cistern 3

At the base of two of the cistern's columns you find the head of Medusa. One on it's side, the other upside down. Although they don't know why they are sure that was intentional.
TaggedTagged
Tagged

Outside the Blue Mosque a stray dog catches a quick nap.
The StripThe Strip
The Strip

Thousands of people flood the strip on the hill in the new part of the city.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb