On The Go in the Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
August 18th 2014
Published: August 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

This week we have been On the Go in Turkey! The old boy and I did a small group tour of Turkey for a week with 'On the Go ' tours. There were nineteen in the group, comprising mostly of Aussies (surprise, surprise), four South Africans and a couple from Canada.

Mehmet is our English speaking guide, he is Turkish obviously, he speaks 7 languages, was a university professor and is an archaeologist, we were in good hands! Mehmet made sure that we had an excellent tour of 'the Turkey'.

Mehmet's intrepretation of the English language cracked me up .....on our first day he told the group he would wait for us near the wase (pointing to the wase), I'm looking, thinking huh, what, where, I can't see a wase, I don't even know what a wase is. I look again to where Mehmet is pointing to a very large vase!! Ok, I got it! He is going to wait for us near the vase, all good! Think of the movie character Borat and you get the idea of Mehmet's accent.

First stop is a tour of i-stumble (say it with a soft/short 'I' sound) which is not the capital of 'the Turkey'. Formerly known as Constantinople, Istanbul is the largest city in Turkey and the only city in the world that sits across two continents, Asia and Europe, East meets West!

Our tour visited the famous spice market, where most of us bought spices and Turkish delight to take home; the Hippodrome which was used for chariot races for Byzantine emperors quite a few years ago now; the Hagia Sophia which was the largest Greek Orthodox Church in the world and is now used as a museum. We visited the Topkapi Palace which was the residence of the Ottoman Sultans for some 400 years; we also went to the Blue Mosque named for the blue tiles in the interior of the mosque - to go inside the mosque, women have to have their head, shoulders and knees covered, men only need to have their knees covered. I always respect a country's culture, but I have to say I felt very uncomfortable covering up that way, particularly wearing something over my hair.

My favourite visit of our tour of Istanbul was to the Basicilia cistern the largest of several hundred underground cisterns that lie beneath the
MehmetMehmetMehmet

He is wery wery Turkish. He will wait for us near the wase.
city and was built in the 6th century, it was used as a water filtration system for the Topkapi palace. Historical text indicates some 7000 slaves were involved in building the cistern.

The cistern featured in the 1963 James Bond film 'From Russia with Love' and in recent novels - Dan Brown's 'Inferno'.

When we finished our tour back in Istanbul and the old boy and I were keen to go to the Grand Bazaar for a spot of last minute shopping and to do some hard core haggling! Plus it helped to get rid of the few Turkish Lyra we had left!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Touching againTouching again
Touching again

This time with his thumb in the cistern
MedusaMedusa
Medusa

She is in the cistern
Hagia SophiaHagia Sophia
Hagia Sophia

Uneven archways helped Hagia Sophia to survive many earthquakes
Mosaic of JesusMosaic of Jesus
Mosaic of Jesus

Hagia Sophia
Prayer timePrayer time
Prayer time

Blue Mosque


23rd August 2014
Basilica cistern

Thank you
Thanks Cath for the wonderful journey you have shared with me & all the funny moments & history of the amazing countries you have visited. Its been the trip of a life time for you both (I think it will be a bit difficult to go back to the mundane life of daily work etc) But the family will certainly be looking forward to seeing you & I'm sure there will be lots more funny stories to tell) Enjoy the heat & splendour of Dubai & have a very safe trip home. Thanks again so much for the Blogs - I will miss them. Love & God Bless Bev xxxx PS Your two travel mates seem to be in sinc with the two of you which was lovely - great to have such good friends.
24th August 2014

Cathy you are a natural writer. You should give up the APS and syndicate your travel writing. It has certainly sharpened my desire to experience the places where you and Mike have been. Your ability to portray the funny side of your experiences and to take misadventure in your stride is extraordinary. I have had many early morning laughs reading your blogs. Kind regards Gordon
25th August 2014

Thank you!
Hello Gordon, thanks for your kind words, I'm really glad you have enjoyed reading my blog. I'm a little sad that my holiday is over, but I'm looking forward to coming home! See you soon!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb