ISTANBUL


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 28th 2014
Published: July 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

ISTANBUL SUNDAY/MONDAY 27/28 July, '14

Today is my last day on the Silk Road and my last blog, until next time. Recipients who want relief from torture, can let me know and I will remove you from the email list, no issue!

It is with mixed emotion that I write this. I am sad to be ending a journey I had contemplated for a lengthy period. Whilst I didn't complete it on the bike, I know it wasn't riding the bike that defeated me, rather the gastro issues became an important concern, something that I had given scant regard to before starting the trip. Whilst it was always a possibility, I don't generally experience those issues. It was the side effects, experienced in short dose, that concerned me more, and it was those I rationalised would potentially cause me longer term negative affect. I am sad to miss seeing the two places I most wanted to see, Uzbekistan and Iran. Visa requirements were unable to be overcome on short notice, so it seems that visits will become part of any future journey to Europe.

On the other hand it is a plus to be with family earlier and have some time back on the Gold Coast, still one of the best places I have seen and experienced. I am also satisfied with my cycling effort, an average day of 130 Kms, up and down hills, country roads with hopeless traffic, superhighways, straight and uninspiring, littered with tyre debris and daily flat tyres. At least I now gave considerable experience in changing tyres on a bike with disc brakes and complicated gearing.

Yesterday I took the ferry to Asian Istanbul, the other side of the Bosphorus. An enjoyable ferry ride of 20 minutes for $2-. I really like this city, a great blend of modern and ancient, hills and water, amazing bazaars, great bread, exotic Ottoman food, and cold Efes beer. At Askudar, in the water side restaurant, many patrons were playing Backgammon. Another exotic experience. I wonder why at the GC, we don't make the most of our foreshore, both ocean and still water. Perhaps it's that there is not enough people, and we don't encourage pursuits such as chess, backgammon and cards at school. It must be an Asian, European thing, as I was surprised and a little disappointed that no one on the ride played cards or other similar pursuit. We did play vocal trivial pursuit, surprised again by the lack of general knowledge that was on display.

Yesterday was the last day of Ramadan. I was surprised that last night was not as boisterous as I expected. However this morning the call to prayer started at 4.45 am, and now two and half hours later, the various Imams are still lecturing. Today is a public holiday, a day for giving small gifts and shadow puppet shows. I will wander the massive gardens in front of the Blue Mosque later to take in the atmosphere.

I have enjoyed writing this blog, despite initial reservations. I hope I haven't bored you, if you continued to persevere, and that I haven't sounded to pompous.

I bid you adieu.

........


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



28th July 2014

Cannot believe it is the final blog post (for now!!) I have definitely enjoyed your blogging - has meant I have been able to keep up to date with everything happening! Have a safe trip back tonight - looking forward to see you soon!! xxx Ps - great photos once again!!
28th July 2014

final blogspot
Brilliant! Have enjoyed every comment. As for end if Ramadan. ..its a family time the finsl day or two. .public holiday &visiting family and friends. I found sitting in a cafe opposite the blue mosque gor the evrning call and ad the sun goes down the minarets light up it becomes musical and beautiful to listen too. Enjoy the rest of your time! Cheers B xx
28th July 2014

Hot Blog
Roger, have enjoyed your blogs. You're a natural " blog master" able to give a feel for local colour and events. Great photographs too Enjoy time at home, recover and plan the next trip. Cheers Peter
29th July 2014

Blog master????
Thanks Peter, you are most generous. Returning to ME in Oct-Dec with wife for general exploration. I will write blog for family. I'll keep you on the email list, but let me know when you want to be removed, which would be most understandable. What adventure do you have planned? Met on ride another interesting fellow from Vancouver Is. It seems that the most adventurous Canadians come from western Canada. Cheers roger
31st July 2014

Final Blog Commiserations!
Hi Rog! You can keep me on your 'blog list'! Totally enjoyed reading them. There's a saying that - 'It is good to have an end to journey towards, but it is the journey that matters in the end'. See you soon. Cheers S & G
31st July 2014

THE END
Thanks Sue, see you in September. Mem is now in the air between Dubai ad Sydney, home after lunch tomorrow. Cheers to you both Roger

Tot: 0.47s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb