Final thoughts on my trip and my last day!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, today was my last day in Turkey. It has been an amazing, awesome, wonderful, exhausting and fabulous trip. I wouldn't have missed it for anything! Traveling solo has made me rely on myself even more than living alone. Also had to rely on the kindness of strangers more than normal. But thats the great thing about Turkey; theres plenty of kindness to go around.
OK, today, I wandered around! I started by going to the Museum of Turkish and Islamic Arts. There is a fantastic ethnographic exhibit that I had read about and wanted to see. I am very glad I did. For me, seeing the way the people had actually lived was one of the highlights of the trip. I highl recommend this museum. The carpets and other displays were also very good. All exhibits had explanations in English. Then since I was right there, I went to the Blue Mosque. Its huge! I also sat in the Hippodrome area and watched people and simit sellers. Simit is like a Turkish bagel. (sort of). See the picture. After that I walked in and out of shops, making my way towards the Grand Bazaar. Nothing I had read or been told had prepared me for the size and variety of shops. Its so astounding. I had to just stand and gaze for a while, which is hard to do because the shop keepers are constantly asking you to look in their shop. Of course, sometimes I did just that. Can't wait to show some of you the picture I bought for my bathroom! I found some bargains for gifts and for myself. I had lunch in the bazaar, which is good because I had a lot of trouble finding my way out of the maze of shops. I think you could wander for days and not see the same thing twice, but I did pass the same shop a couple of times, just making circles I think. There is one whole long corridor of jewelry shops, one of jeans and tshirts, one of leather goods, and so on. Carpet shops are everywhere.If you needed a good halloween costume and had the right shape(I don't), they had lots of belly dancer outfits. I think I was in there for about 4 or so hours and probably only saw about a third of the place. After leaving, finally finding an exit, I found the book market street. Those who know me, know I love to read and I was happy to find a used book store with some books in English since I have nothing left to read with me! Never fear, I do now! Then I had to make my way back to my hotel, which turned out to be the hardest part of the whole trip! I finally found the right area and even better my hotel! Now I am just sitting in the hotel lobbey waiting for it to be time to go to the airport for my 5:50 AM flight. ugh! At least I am super tired, so I should be able to sleep.
I have a sense of accomplishment that I was able to do this on my own. Although, I did have a lot of help from people on a couple of website, mainly Tripadvisor and Turkeytravelplanner. Some people made my trip easier by personally helping, like Carrie from Hotel Canada, who gave me lots of good advice. Tony and Ros were wonderful to share their home with me for 2 nights and help me in many ways. All of those at work who said they(Tony and Ros) must have an ulterior motive..(you know what I mean); well they are great people and they made me feel like family. Ok, now to add some pictures. And if you ever get the chance, please visit Turkey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Womens area to prayWomens area to pray
Womens area to pray

In sectioned off area at rear of mosque


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb