Disclaimer


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is day 12. The notion of a cohesive narrative or some jazz at this point would just be silly. I certainly don't want one, and if you do then Sammy Two-Toes will show you right out. So far, each day contains lots of novelty and lots of the quasi-familiar. Like a perfectly modern intra-city bus system which takes me everywhere, everyday, but on which I have yet to see ONE PERSON read a book, besides me. And there cats everywhere. I think my best offerings right now are word-bytes and anecdotes. Also, because days are episodic this way: I sit in the next cafe that comes along and order a little glass of çay (tea, pronounced ch-I) for 1 lira. See left. Doesn't that look good? The Turks do this really well. And this is imposed rest, because Istanbul feels busy everywhere. But I also want to get it all in so I'll sit in a cafe drinking çay with my forehead all perky and eyes and ears humming to whatever I can drag out of the senso-sphere. This is enforced sensory overload. I do this a lot, and it's pretty exhausting. Distinguishing between these two states, especially while sitting in the same café drinking the same refreshing çay, is a skill I have far from mastered. That is to say, thing haven't settled quite yet. Hopefully these little vignettes will create a text to be read later, to say "Oh, that happened."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb