Dogs don't do Ramadan


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
June 6th 2016
Published: June 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Chora Museum: Saint PaulChora Museum: Saint PaulChora Museum: Saint Paul

The Greek says "I don't like dogs either"
Today is the first day of Ramadan, when observant Muslims don't eat or drink anything between sunrise and sunset. I found out that this rule doesn't apply to the local stray dogs when I encountered a few on top of the old city walls and one of them gave me a nip on the ankle.

This led to an interesting involvement with the Turkish health service. The first hospital I went to doesn't give rabies shots. You may also find this surprising, given that the city is full of stray dogs and cats. They sent me to another hospital where I joined the locals in pressing myself forward for service, despite their attempt to assign numbers to each patient. I eventually got a jab and went to a pharmacy for two kinds of antibiotics. My system is going to be completely free of nasty bugs now!

Once that was all taken care of I had time to visit a Byzantine church which was full of beautiful mosaics on the walls and ceiling. And no dogs in sight.

Advertisement



7th June 2016

Funny but true.
Enjoyed your notes about dogs of Istanbul. Haven't encountered any aggressive one during my many visits. perhaps I was not as adventurous and did not climb city walls. Visits to old churches are inspiring.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb