Gallipoli Penisula


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Canakkale
June 7th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Walking down Anzac CoveWalking down Anzac CoveWalking down Anzac Cove

This is where the Allies landed.
Took the morning ferry to Gallipoli today, which is the penisula on the other side of the Dardanelles from where I'm staying. This was where one of the most important battles of WWI took place: where the Turks and Germans stopped the Allies from bringing down Turkey in 1915. It was a huge defeat for the Allies, who were led by a very young Winston Churchill. Think of it as the D-Day of WWI, but where the Allies lost.

I made my way around the most important parts of the battlefield, from being right down on the water where the Allies first invaded, to hiking up to the cliffs above. It got a little intense after awhile, and I think I walked at least 10 or so miles today. Now my forearms are horribly burned. But it was definitely worth it - the views down to the sea from the cliffs were especially beautiful.

Also, I think on a cool note, the Prime Minister of Turkey, Tayyip Erdogan (who is great friends with the US), spoke at Gallipoli today, opening a brand new war museum. I didn't get to see him, but I thought it was a strange coincidence that the Prime Minister was just a few miles away.

Ended by taking the ferry back across the Dardanelles late in the day. Very tired... think I'll go to bed early tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Anzac Cove from the cliffsAnzac Cove from the cliffs
Anzac Cove from the cliffs

The cliffs are where the Turks were firing down on the Allies below.
Lone Pine CemeteryLone Pine Cemetery
Lone Pine Cemetery

Why do you think it's called lone pine??


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb