Chimneys But No Smoke!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Cappadocia » Göreme
August 6th 2010
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I had heard lots and lots about Cappadocia before I arrived in Turkey. Loads of people had told me is was stunning and as usual when I arrived with images and opinions about what I had seen I again, did not feel effected in the way others had.
The Cappadocia region is a result of the vulcanic eruptions which occurred in Erciyes, Hasandag and Gulludag. The region formed a large tableland from the vulcanic tufas and together with the erosion of the Kizilirmak river and wind over tens of thousands of years there appeared the chimney rocks . The first Christians used the underground cities from Cappadocia has hidden underground cities. They had to live in the underground cities for long durations without being able to go out so they developed these underground cities by making provisions rooms, ventilation chimneys, wine production places, churches, abbeys, water wells, toilets and meeting rooms. They escaped from the persecution of the Roman soldiers. As a result , lots of the caves have roman paintings and play the role of ancient burial grounds.
We spent the day climbing into caves and up and down ladders. Again, it was boiling! It is only a tourist attraction now but was occupied up until the 1950's before some of the chimneys began to erode so badly they collapsed.
It was really interesting walking around the old homes. Some where places of worship, storage for animals and all has great views of the dry surroundings. Temperatures soared as the day progressed and I got loads of looks from the group as I continued to ask too many questions lol . That one person who asks way too many questions and you think just shut up! was certainly me. he he he
Before lunch we stopped to look at some really beautiful turkish rugs. The women are specially trained and it can take months and years to make each one. Of course. I fell in love with the MOST EXPENSIVE type of rug but this time I was really good and did not do my usual heat of the moment impulse buy. The most amazing thing about this place is that people once lived here like you and I live in our suburban houses. The tunnels were warm in the winter and cool in the summer. There were churches and even burial grounds.
After a very hot day we stopped for flies with a seafood lunch and then a quick swim in the water. While we sat admiring the lake we watched a sea snake enter the water and I started freaking out but it was sooooooooooo hot I really needed to cool off so with a keen eye on the water I took a quick dip with all the girls.
It was from this point that I started to feel really sick, Nauseas all the time, off food, temperatures, stomach aches and endless amounts of toilet stops. In all my travels I have never felt so unwell and just could not kick it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb