A Week In The Sun - Bodrum Peninsula, Turkey.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Yalikavak
June 11th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As a “compromise” , we decided to spend the second week of our holidays relaxing by a pool, eating good food and making DIY mojito’s. Our first week was fairly adventurous so a balance was required before we returned home to work. When I say “compromise” I mean, Michelle suggested it, I disagreed, thought about it rationally and how relaxing for a week might be beneficial and then said a hesitant “Ok” as a compromise. I was secretly looking forward to it though. A long process then ensued, to find a villa with a private pool and a nice balcony to enjoy early breakfasts and evening meals. After a lot of searching we came up with Hill View Gardens in Yalikavak, located on the north western tip of the Bodrum peninsula. The complex was located high in the hill side and had great sea views. When we arrived at Bodrum-Milas airport, a man was waiting for us with my name held up on a sign. I still get that “I’m important” feeling when I see my name. Truth though, I’m as ordinary and as unimportant as every other person in the airport. The taxi drove us to our villa, where we checked in and ventured up to the local restaurant for a bite to eat. Later that evening we sussed out our new home for the week before getting to bed early after our long day of travel to get here.

We had hired a car for the week which was to be delivered to the house at 12pm. Saying to myself that these things never happen on time, we slipped into our swim shorts, got the sun cream on and stretched out on the sun loungers by the pool. No sooner had I just got relaxed when the car reversed into the driveway. This company was punctual unfortunately. As we had no supplies for the week we soon got into the car and drove in search of the nearest supermarket. Prices in Turkey are considerably expensive. I really expected cheaper and was even more expensive than at home in Ireland. Even more of a shock was the price of petrol at €2 a litre! With enough food packed into the boot we drove home, expecting to see the fuel gauge drop significantly for the small distance we had covered. It didn’t, but I still watched with eager anticipation, half fascinated, half dismayed at how much we would actually use over the week. We saw the day out by eating, sunbathing and sleeping.

For the rest of the week we had little mini adventures to the small, quaint nearby villages, Gumusluk being a favourite. A fisherman’s village now turned into a row of sea view restaurants, Gumusluk is an ideal place to spend a lazy afternoon. No cars can enter the village, so you have to park just outside it. Fresh fish is on display everywhere and waiters jostle for your business. Every waiter used the same trick. “Please Sir, give me one minute of your time and I explain the history of the area”. We got caught by the first waiter but didn’t fall for it again. Funny enough we went back to the first waiter for food, so I suppose their trick does work. I ordered Sea Bass and Michelle had King prawns. Although not expensive it wasn’t overly cheap. The fish was lovely and fresh and as you can see from the photo I didn’t leave much behind.

For our last day in Turkey we spent the evening in Yalikavak and had one last supper. Michelle had the Sea Bass and I had the Clay Pot Kebab. This arrived at the table on fire, where the waiter then preformed a bit of a show putting it out. The meal was fantastic and the service as usual was excellent. Ali Baba was the name of the place and I’d really recommend it if your ever in the area. The week came to an end and with our skin slightly tanned and our waistlines expanded we flew out of Bodrum and back into Dublin. Turkey had been everything and more. It wasn’t as crazy as I expected. Istanbul in particular. The food was excellent and I think I was on kebab number 20 by the time we were leaving. The skies were blue for all but two days, which might seem like normal for some, but where I’m from it’s the other way around unfortunately. The people were friendly, but some suffered from what I call big country syndrome. A kind of arrogance that says “I’m not really bothered about you being here, in fact I didn’t even notice you”. Small countries don’t have that and are just that little bit more friendly and outgoing outside the service industry sectors. Of course our Hot Air Balloon ride was an experience in itself, but I really enjoyed Istanbul. A designated world mega city, it provided me with all the sights, sounds and smells to put your sense’s into overdrive and leave you wanting more, more and more. A cultural hotbed with a history unrivalled by many cities. A new favourite city of mine.

It was me who recently repeated the famous saying “its not about the destination, it’s about the journey”. Well another one is over and I can emphatically say, it is most definitely the Journey.

In a bit. DH



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



28th June 2011

Your research paid off
You have a lovely Villa.....it looks perfect. Great food photos, especially the Sea Bass. Yum. We would have enjoyed ordering the flaming kabob. We've enjoyed following another one of your journey's.

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 30; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb