Big waves


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Bodrum
August 3rd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.0391, 27.4302

We had huge waves at the beach yesterday. That is, huge waves for here. Usually there are very few waves, if any. All of them are generated by wind, not tide. We heard that there was rain in Istanbul the day before yesterday and that brought some good winds south to us. We all really enjoyed going out in the big surf and riding up and down on the waves. We also cracked up at the commotion generated by one of the buoys coming loose and letting a diving platform and a small pontoon boat get free. There must have been 15 people who came over to watch and help drag them both up on the beach. I'm guessing that when we get back down there today it will all be set to rights.

This morning we went down to the pool for a while and then walked down to the little market to see what we could score for lunch. We got a watermelon, some bread and something like a salami that is half chicken, half beef and tastes of cumin. Kate liked the salami, Josh was willing to eat some, Alex will probably be hungry in another 20 minutes. We lost a loaf of bread on the way home. I think we got distracted by the watermelon and didn't notice when it fell out of the bag. Since it only cost $.35, it's not a big loss, but we thought it was funny. Where'd the bread go? I hope some worthy dog found it. Actually, I'm quite certain a dog found it. You can't swing a dead cat without hitting a dog here. (and then the dog would eat the dead cat)

Now the kids are playing dungeons and dragons. My internet connection has improved sufficiently that I am attempting to dowload the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy movie. I already regaled the children with my story about how Douglas Adams wrote me a letter when I was in middle school--my brush with greatness. It will probably take a couple days to download the movie, but I'm sure it will be quite the event when we watch it. Did I mention we found popcorn that we can pop?

We are going to stay home long enough today to try and iChat with Dad before he goes to work and then we'll head to the beach.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb