2nd day Aleppo, acclimatizing


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » North » Aleppo
April 13th 2010
Published: April 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ancient Arabic sayingAncient Arabic sayingAncient Arabic saying

Something to do with the virtues of washing your hands after going to the bathroom I guess.
Today I took it easy, getting used to the heat. First I found some oil for the ignition of my bike (the key is not working that great anymore, ouch) I was lost for an hour trying to get back to the hotel. I swear I could never have been more than half a kilometre away from it as I walked around in circles.

Sprayed my ignition, then tried to find an ATM that would work with my card, and headed towards the souk again. In the afternoon I dropped by M's for some scarf shopping. He told me that he had been unable to get me out of his mind, and informed everyone who visited his shop that I was his future husband. While showing me some scarfs he tried to stroke my hands as much as possible, I told him to back off, and he behaved himself again. For a while.... I just take it as a compliment I guess.
He does have the nice stuff, recommended. I got some nice scarfs to take home, had some coffee again with M and accepted his invitation to come to his his place for dinner, under strict conditions... Perhaps I'll bring a chaperone though!

In the evening I had dinner at an Iraqi restaurant with Paul, Dina and a large group of tourist, then we went to the Baron for beers again. I sat chatting to antother Dutch traveller till 2 and stumbled of to bed.

The toilet in the my room makes the most wonderfull noise while refilling, like a painfull whale song :-) Soothed by this sound of the ocean and the horns outside I fell asleep.

Advertisement



23rd April 2010

Hi Ho
Ton, this is wonderfull and we envy you for Alepo. Please send more pictures. Explain M. that you are already taken, and also that you have a horrible mother in law, that keeps an eye on your good behaviour. By Gabi @ Anat

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb