Ras Tanura


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Ras Tanura
February 13th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip to Ras Tannura

To see more of the map, hold down your LEFT mouse button and move your mouse around. You can also zoom in and out. I'm not really sure exactly where Dhahran is, but I thnk it's approximately where I've marked. You can see Al Khobar (to pronouce, clear your throat when you say "Khobar." It's more like "Hobar." Anyway it's exactly one hour from where I am to Ras Tannura.

A More Relaxing Day Off


Breakfast today was the specialty of house: waffles. They have about 12 giant waffle irons and everyone says they are the best. Well, when in Saudi Arabia, do what the Americans do: eat the waffles. So I had a huge waffle and a mug of coffee for about $2.00. The dinner plate sized pancakes are a $1 each. Not only does the Aramco compound look like 1959, but the prices match too. (Including the price of gas, of course).

After breakfast, Esbjorn (the unofficial tour leader with 20 trips here at 3 weeks per trip), Glyn (from Australia), and I went to Ras Tanura, which is another Aramco compound an hour from Dhahran. It’s similar to here, but they are right on the Arabian (Persian) Gulf. We spent about three hours walking the beach, where we were just about the ONLY people there. It’s about 70 degrees, but this is winter for them. I loved the smell of the salt air, the sound of the waves and the view of Iran (just kidding, it’s out across the gulf, but you can’t see it). I spent my time collecting shells (see photos) and just relaxing. It
Esbjorn and GlynEsbjorn and GlynEsbjorn and Glyn

This is the Aramco bus. You have to be a certain paygrade to ride the bus. Obviously it's not too high because I qualified!
was a very welcome change. I took a bunch of photos, so I’m uploading those for your viewing pleasure.

On the way there, I saw lots of desert (notice the correct spelling this time!). Pretty much everything is mono-chromatic. I also had an ah-ha moment. When I was growing up in New York, the most popular gas station was Gulf. It occurred to me where they got the name. Well that realization only took 50 years. Duh. I also saw my first oil well. Somehow I keep thinking about Jed Clampett and the Beverly Hillbillies. All together now: There’s old Jed, now he’s a millionaire…

Upon returning, I did my first laundry. Confession: I had to have Glyn help me with how much soap, settings etc. Can you tell that Linda has spoiled me?. I multi-tasked by going over to the SAC center and loading the files I corrected last night.

Dinner tonight was lamb chops (most excellent), toubouli salad, hummus, and fresh pita bread (which I eat almost every night). And a Diet Pepsi.

Tomorrow’s agenda: SAC III.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mono-chromaticMono-chromatic
Mono-chromatic

This is what it looks like most of the way to Ras Tanura. Lots of sand and lots of tan
Saudi Strip MallSaudi Strip Mall
Saudi Strip Mall

Shopping anyone?
Close to Ras TanuraClose to Ras Tanura
Close to Ras Tanura

I could see the gulf.
Check out #8!Check out #8!
Check out #8!

"8. NO slaughtering sheep at the beach." Darn it.
Souvenirs for homeSouvenirs for home
Souvenirs for home

These are coming with me. Glyn says it's illegal to take shells from the beach in Australia. Hey, that's one rule they don't have here.
A Real Oil WellA Real Oil Well
A Real Oil Well

I bet you wish you had one of these.
The Local Towns and Cities BeyondThe Local Towns and Cities Beyond
The Local Towns and Cities Beyond

Riyadh is the capital of Saudi Arabia.
The Aramco Guard StationThe Aramco Guard Station
The Aramco Guard Station

Everyone must show their offical Aramco ID to get in.
The MosqueThe Mosque
The Mosque

One of VERY many.


13th February 2009

Home Ec 101?
OK, I would comment on the gorgeous beach and all the other great pics, but I still cannot wrap my brain around the fact that you don't know how to do laundry! Utterly speechless. I hope Glyn teased you mercilessly.
14th February 2009

Laundry
OK, I DO know how to do laundry. It's that I don't do it very often. At home I have written instructions about how much detergent, settings, etc. I could tell you that the controls here are in Arabic, but they just seem that way to me. Hot/Hot, Hot/Cold, Cold/Hot, auto-detect settings, etc., load size. I prefer to use a subject matter expert when one is available. You should know that, eve!
11th November 2010

Moving to Ras Tanura
Hi I will soon be moving to Ras tanura, and I guess as everyone else have concerns, I will be working at the Aramco Training Center, but will not be a direct hire, therefore I will have to locate my own accomodations, I guess a compound is the way to go, I am not sure. I will not have a car for a little while, so I need it closre to the Training center.I am wondering the location of such compounds in relation to the center and also cost. I am a person that likes to run and work out. Can anyone give me some info on any of these concerns Thank you Bob

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb