Back in the KSA (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
October 11th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Khobar, near Dahran, Saudi Arabia


I'm back in Saudi Arabia for trip #4 to Saudi Arabia and Aramco. However, this time I'm only scheduled to be here for about two weeks (including travel) and my plane ticket is scheduled to leave Saudi on October 21 (to arrive back home on October 22). The reason I'm scheduled for a shorter amount of time is that my primary mission this time is to train a couple of new internal employees to do the administration at the assessment center. However, based upon my previous experiences here, one never knows for sure; I could be here at late as November 4.

A few people who knew I was coming here again asked me if I intended to blog again. However, I don't want to be repetitive and my perspective is certainly different than when I was here for the first time back in February. So things that seemed very different than what I was used to now seem common-place. For example, I did see a construction sign on the way in that said "Men at Working" but I'm used to seeing that type of fractured English. And hey, let's face it. Considering my Arabic language skills, I have no right to complain! And come to think of it, Linda and I saw a lot worse on signs in Maine, when we went there in July.

Tonight was turkey night at the commissary. As regular readers know by now, every Sunday night is turkey night at the commissary.

So tomorrow is the first day of work. And so it begins. I'll try to limit my blogs to things that are new or different, so that it's not a total snooze-fest. However, I will at least try to post a few blogs so that my friends and family know I'm doing OK.

Advertisement



11th October 2009

Thank Allah the Blog is Back
All your foodie friends and followers are taking out their Koran and praising Allah that you could not go to Saudi and NOT BLOG. Long live the TED BLOG. Now about those food shots?
11th October 2009

Welcome back
Ahlan wa sahlan. I came back recently after a two-month vacation. Guess what, I can now see the photos on your blog!
11th October 2009

I Second that!
The food pics just never get old, so keep those coming for sure! You do know it's supposed to SNOW tonight in Mpls, while you're in what--120 degrees? Will you have time for any adventures off the compound this time?

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb