Last Evening in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

LunchLunchLunch

Lots of good stuff today: tabouli salad, goat cheese appetizer, rice and beef strogenoff, salmon and mashed potatoes, and shrimp and noodles
I would like to thank you all for taking this journey with me, especially those of you who have slogged your way through three trips worth of blog entries. It’s been a fun journey and I’ve enjoyed sharing it with you.

As in any trip, no matter how interesting and fun it is, I’m looking forward to going home. When the exotic becomes routine and the new experiences grow old, it’s time to go home. I miss my family, friends, and co-workers. I miss falling asleep watching TV, I miss reading the Sunday paper, and I miss all of the routine things that you look forward to leaving behind when you are packing your suitcase at the beginning of a trip.

I have lots of great memories and experiences and I’ve met lots of great people including a great cast of characters: Koen, Dave, Adrian, Glyn, Pat, and Andrej. I’ve enjoyed belt-makers and Zatar pizzas in Khobar, castles in Dammam, beaches in Ras Tanura, open-air markets in Qatif, and medieval forts in Tarut, as well as meeting another 72 Saudi participants at this month’s Supervisor Assessment Center.

Tomorrow at 5:30, after work, Koen and I head for Bahrain,
And for dessertAnd for dessertAnd for dessert

Fruit and cakes.
where we will catch a 10 pm flight to Kuwait and then Amsterdam. That's the end of the road for Koen; I head back to Minneapolis from there. I'll be back home Thursday afternoon.

It’s been a great trip - thanks for coming along.

-- Ted


Advertisement



2nd June 2009

Hooray!
Have a safe trip back. I have LOVED reading your blogs, but I am looking forward to you being a little closer. :) See you in a few days.
2nd June 2009

Thanks for the Blog
Ted: I really enjoyed reading these and appreciate all the time and energy you put into creating them. Your humor is wonderful and loved the pix. Speak to you soon after you come back to the US. e
2nd June 2009

Thanks Ted
Hi Ted - Many thanks for your blogtastic record of our time in Saudi. There have been missed days when I have been locked in my room report writing, that your Blog has been my contact with the outside world. You have been a great colleague to work with - Adrian
2nd June 2009

Well Done!
Great job once again on the blog, Ted! It's so enjoyable reading them and seeing the pics. I always look forward to new entries. Think you'll have to keep this up for your next trip...wherever it may be! Have a safe trip home.
2nd June 2009

Thanks.
Thanks eve, Adrian, Ellen, and Jess. Very much appreciated.
4th June 2009

senior clockologist
hi Ted...Sitting in Dubai airport waiting for my long connection home. Great to catch up on the final days though your blog. Many thanks for the memories and great working with you. See you around another day! Glyn
4th June 2009

Bon Voyage!
Thanks for the great blogathon Ted -- it's been fun. Glad you'll be back in Mpls so I can see you when I get there 6/19! We have those Gemini birthdays to celebrate! Tiner
4th June 2009

PS - Lunch
That looks like a WEEK's worth of lunches to me! OMG! I just ate 2 slices of leftover deGiorno's pizza for lunch -- I'm jealous!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb