Final Food Blog - Goodbye from Dhahran


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
May 5th 2009
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, it’s my final night here. I’ve just packed up most of my stuff and I’ll need to take it over to the SAC Center tomorrow morning. As soon as we’re done, Don and I will jump into a cab and head over the causeway (a long crowded bridge) to Bahrain, which is an island country off the coast of Saudi Arabia. It from there (at 10 pm) that I’ll fly to Amsterdam and then switch planes for Minneapolis. And so it ends.

Two nights ago, Don and I headed to Khobar. He had bought a Persian-style carpet and runner, but his wife wanted something larger. When Don originally bought it, he requested some sort of box. The guy disappeared and came back with a brand new suitcase and a separate lock. Now that’s thinking outside the (shipping) box! So carpets (and suitcase) in hand, we headed back to the rug store. I suggested that Don make it clear to the merchant that we were hear to trade up, not to return (this isn’t Target, you know!). So the rug guy was only too happy to let Don spend even more money. After the transactions were done, we headed to my favorite Schwarma place (around the corner from the Latif Bakery). For 4 riyals each, it’s a taste of heaven!

Last night was the traditional PDI/Aramco farewell dinner. We ate at a restaurant called La Gondola and had a very nice meal. However, I’ve decided the Saudi should legalize alcohol and ban smoking. It’s a bummer when you are used to non-smoking restaurants and then run into smoking at the next table. However, the food was great.

Tonight was my final dinner with Bob, who I will miss. He introduced me to the pizza at the Tandori house (yes, I know how weird that sounds).

And so I leave you with some additional food photos, which seem to be ever so popular.

Thanks for making this journey with me. I will be back in the Kingdom a week from tomorrow! However, I am very much looking forward to reuniting with family, friends, and co-workers.

However, from here, thank you Pat, Don, Eric, Werner, Adrian, Glyn, Bob, Manir, Rimu, Nile, and Rhone for making this a wonderful experience.

Ma’ salamah. Goodbye for now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Hamour, Salmon, and ShrimpHamour, Salmon, and Shrimp
Hamour, Salmon, and Shrimp

They would say "shrimps"
More appetizersMore appetizers
More appetizers

That's tabouli under the tomatoes (left side)
Sp;agetti and ShrimpSp;agetti and Shrimp
Sp;agetti and Shrimp

Kim called this "Midnight Spaghetti" for some reason.
My plate at lunch todayMy plate at lunch today
My plate at lunch today

Kim suggested to put the Beef Stroganoff over the midnight spaghetti. And of course, tabouli on the side!


5th May 2009

Have a safe trip home! I'll be waiting to hear about the catering deal you have worked out...
5th May 2009

Thanks Again, Great Blogs
Ted: It sounds like you had a great trip. Strange to think you are "commuting" back to the US only to return in a week. Keep the blog going. Great food pixs. Ellen
5th May 2009

BON VOYAGE!
have a safe trip! I just have to ask -- what is midnight spaghetti?
5th May 2009

Food Nirvana!
OK, I think you need to start smuggling back the food! The kabobs and mac and cheese, and well, the chocolate torte look amazing. Thanks again for a great blog--well done, Ted! I assume you'll be back online in mere days once you return to SA? Hope so!
6th May 2009

Midnight Spaghetti
Midnight Spaghetti appears to be plain spaghetti with shrimp. What makes that "Midnight" spaghtetti is anyone's guess.
6th May 2009

Twisted Logic
Here's a quick story: I’ve been trying to buy a cell phone at the commissary. They are out of the phone I want (cheap!). The guy said he would try to find one for me, but he would need my cell phone number to contact me when it came in. If I had a cell phone number, why would I be buying a phone? And so it goes.
6th May 2009

Have a safe trip back home. See you again when you're back (here). Regarding your story about buying a mobile phone, I think you can't legally buy one unless you have a residence permit. But who knows, Aramco people may have different rules.
6th May 2009

Mobile Phones
They are for sale in the Commisary to anyone with an Aramco badge. However, getting one is a different story. The Mobiley guy said to come back this morning. This morning he said he picked up the phone last night, but his car broke down and his supervisor had it. I should come back at 1:30. However, apparently 1:30 means sometime between 3:00 and 4:00. Still no phone.
29th October 2009

Great Blog
I am writing this from my room in Steineke. I am in KSA for 5 weeks and am half way through the trip. I live in Detroit so I know what a culture shock this is for someone from the Upper Midwest. Unfortunately, I am here as a Consultant working solo. I haven't met any other Westerner's willing/interested in traveling so I spend most of my weekend time here in the compound. I am pretty busy during the week visiting different locations (some of them remote) so the time passes pretty quickly. I can attest that the food outside the dining hall is wonderful. I have had the chance to have lots of local fare and it is terrific. Between the lamb, hommous, fresh lentils, foul, and many other wonderful dishes it is truly a culinary expose. I just wish sweets and deserts weren't so prevalent. Oh well, that reminds me, it is time for dinner. Bon-a-Petite~
13th April 2012

Fantatic blog thanks
really enjoyed your blog its fantasic. The photos show so many interesting facets of life on the ground for people who might get the chance to work in Saudi plus you have your priorities right in highlighting to food!!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb