TGIF


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
February 20th 2009
Published: February 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Prosperity WellProsperity WellProsperity Well

This is the name of well #7. I'd say that's a bit of an understatement.

Relaxing Weekend


Today started with the signature breakfast dish of The Dining Hall - a waffle, fresh-squeezed orange juice and coffee. I then headed over to the consultants’ flats (Euro-speak for apartments) and did my final laundry. Some of you will be happy to know that I was able to manage on my own this time. In fact, I used the washer and dryer in each of the two flats - one for colored and one for whites. Is this TMI?

Esbjorn satisfied my inner-tourist and we drove to Oil Well #7, which is the first well that struck oil in Saudi Arabia in 1938 (if I am remembering correctly). It’s right outside of the main gate. Actually there are three guard gates you have to go through to get in here. And within camp, you have to show your pass to get into certain areas, like the movie theatre and library. I also took some pictures of sand dunes, which to a Minnesotan is like taking pictures of snow, but I still think they are cool. I think it’s the closest I’ll get to the desert (although I’ve frequently been close to the desserts).

I’ve just come back
Oil Well #7Oil Well #7Oil Well #7

This is the actual oil well that first produced oil for Saudi. Esbjorn says they were originally disappointed because they were looking for water.
from Anthea’s house, where she invited all of us for a barbeque. Wolf is the Martha Stewart of the group and he made marinated steaks, hamburgers and had made a batch of brownies. Anthea made several salads, and threw shrimps on the Barbie. She made her secret family recipe for a cheese spread and absolutely refused to give me the recipe. It was just like being in Australia (and all of her Australian signs helped complete the feeling). We all had a really good time. One of the conversations involved explaining the meaning of Thanksgiving. Pat said it’s all about the turkey.

It was nice to have some downtime. This is actually the first day since I’ve been here that I’ve nothing connected with work. As we were leaving, I said “See you back at work on Sunday” to Anthea. I had to think out the days because that still doesn’t sound right.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Oil Well #7Oil Well #7
Oil Well #7

A wider shot. The gate was locked (maybe because it's Friday) so we couldn't get closer. This shot is through the fence.
Palm Trees and FencesPalm Trees and Fences
Palm Trees and Fences

This is the fence through which I took the photo of the well.
Storage TanksStorage Tanks
Storage Tanks

This is where they store the oil.
Sand DunesSand Dunes
Sand Dunes

This is across the way from the oil well.
On the RoadOn the Road
On the Road

This is still at Aramco, but outside of the main gate.
On the Road 2On the Road 2
On the Road 2

We are now in the car driving around a bit..
Aramco BuildingAramco Building
Aramco Building

This is one of the office buildings at Aramco. Pretty nice, wouldn't you say?
NOT the Development PipelineNOT the Development Pipeline
NOT the Development Pipeline

Anywhere they have spare oil pipes, they are behind barbed wire. But this is what oil pipeline chunks look like. For all you PDI'ers, this is NOT the Development Pipeline, but the REAL pipeline!!edit delete
More storage tanksMore storage tanks
More storage tanks

You have to put the oil somewhere, you know.
More Sand DunesMore Sand Dunes
More Sand Dunes

I'm told this is what the desert looks like. Just a whole lot bigger.
And for contrast...And for contrast...
And for contrast...

This is the Aramco golf course in camp. Care to guess what this cost to create in the desert? Brandon, you could make some great caddy tips here I bet!
Rolling Hills Golf CourseRolling Hills Golf Course
Rolling Hills Golf Course

The main gate of the golf course. Ah, Rolling Hills.
Sinclare, Peng, and PatSinclare, Peng, and Pat
Sinclare, Peng, and Pat

Click NEXT to see more photos!


23rd February 2009

Aussie Hospitality
How kind of Anthea to have you all over for a barbie - very typical Aussie behavior that's apparently transportable (unlike our vernacular)! Although I'm having a hard time believing it was "just like being in Australia"...good grief ;-)

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb