Assessment Center #2


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A New Cycle Begins


Today was the start of a new assessment cycle. It’s kind of like the movie Ground Hog Day. There will be a total of six cycles in the three weeks that I’m here. It’s kind of weird. I did the Logistics piece of the orientation as well as the briefings for the simulations.

Although that doesn’t mean anything to most of you, it does show that I’m starting to feel part of this thing, instead of an observer. So although today was still crazy-busy, it was less stressful for me personally.

I think that this may be my one and only trip to The Kingdom (as it’s known here) because I think the client will decide to do their own administration in the future. But you never know. Ironically, yesterday I got my “permanent” Aramco ID card. That was an experience. I doubt the CIA has as much security as Aramco. The process took about 45 minutes. I had to hand over my passport (again) and get very thoroughly finger printed, including rolling each finger from left to right across a glass plate, as well as touching the glass plate with each finger (no rolling). I was then photographed (again) and signed for my card. I have my own official badge number now.

Speaking of security, I have to use two separate ID’s and Passwords each time I login and that’s in addition to my ID and Password for my laptop and to get into Outlook. So that’s four ID’s and Password entries each time. And I have a separate ID and Password for the PC in my room, as well as another ID and Password to use at the assessment center. Even the wireless networks are different in different buildings. Also, the login times-out if you pause for a couple of minutes. In fact, that happens during these blog entries. I’m now typing them into Word and then cutting and pasting into the blog entry.

Here’s another interesting fact. One of the consultants brought some DVD from home (rated PG 13) and he can’t play it on his laptop. I thought that would be impossible since he’s not connected to a network or the internet. Apparently, it’s based upon the time zone on his PC! He tried to change the time zone, but he was warned that if he switched it too many times, the DVD would lock-up. It’s a very different place!

I’m attaching a couple of more photos. I have to get up in six hours or so, so I better wrap up.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb