Qatar - Anantara Banana Island Resort


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar
March 28th 2015
Published: March 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

For this past weekend, my friend Samantha and I booked a getaway at the new fancy resort just of the coast of Qatar - 20 minute boat ride from Doha. Anantara Banana Island Resort. Let's just say, it was an amazing retreat! However, one thing that we both agreed on: you definitely never forget that you are in Qatar. So, while we both had a great time and intend to return, it was definitely a roller coaster.

I apologize in advance if this reads like a hotel review; in a way it is because we were constantly going through the pros and cons all weekend. Since it is a new resort, it has real potential, but they need to fix quite a few things. We made a full list of items that will be posted on trip advisor in the hopes that it will help them improve.

Thursday, I worked in our in-town office instead of the main industrial area office - so much better sometimes. We left around 4pm and headed to the port off the corniche. This is where I had had my first item in a long list of necessary improvements we recommend for the report; the website was not very clear on where you are supposed to go and what exactly you are supposed to do and when I called, the guy did not give me a real answer and sent me to reception, which never answered their phones. But found it we did, and from the valet service to reception to the deckhands, all staff were exceptionally friendly. We checked in and had some welcome dates while waiting for the boat to take us to the island.

The second item in my list: false advertising. The "luxury yacht" that was mentioned as our mode of transportation to the island is really just a very nice ferry. We disembarked at the island and were unsure what to do with no one directing us. Fortunately, there is really only one direction you can go, so we walked up the dock to the first building, Reception, where we were promptly greeted by Karin. She welcomed us and led us to our room, showing us how the facilities worked and pre-emptively answered our questions while also making quite pleasant small talk. Our bags soon arrived and we headed out to explore. Karin had recommended Q-Lounge for dinner and we took her advice after ambling along the beautiful beach. Q-Lounge is primarily tapas based food, but it was all absolutely delicious (actually, I didn't like the cold cuts), but it did take a while to get the food. However, it was a pleasant evening and we enjoyed our first night in local paradise.

The beds were so comfortable and we fell asleep early that night. In the morning, Sam got up early for her usual run at the gym and I slowly made my way over to dabble in weight lifting and jump rope. Then we made our way to our included breakfast which was amazing. There was so much to choose from and again the staff were very nice. I stress that they were definitely trying to be friendly, but they missed just that little special touch, which I think will only ever really come from more training or practice. After breakfast, we were excited to go to the beach so we went back to the room, changed and called down to ask where we could get beach towels. After re-directing our call, they told us they would bring the towels. Twenty minutes later: no towels.
Our roomOur roomOur room

Sam just could not remember "2105" all weekend long
Another call with assurance they would bring us towels. Twenty minutes later: no towels. Finally we just went to reception. We tried to make them understand that we did not necessarily want them to bring us towels, just where the heck do we find them? Oh there are many beach stalls where we can get them. Ok, why didn't you say that instead of making us wait for forty minutes? This is the very thing we are used here in the Middle East but expected more from Anantara. Oh well.

It was solved and we were introduced to a nice South African guy who guided us to two available beach chairs, bringing us towels and seat cushions. We had noticed while strolling along the beach the previous evening that the bean bag chairs along the beach could float. So we took two out and it was the best part of the whole weekend (for me!) - just lounging in the middle of the water, occasionally have to jump into the frigid water when the wind pushed us too far out or toward the pier. I didn't mind this; I love swimming so I would pull us both back and let us glide away again. It drizzled out a few times, but it was fabulous.

After about 90 minutes of this, we decided to go back to the room and go get lunch. We headed to "Ted's American Diner" where we each got a burger and Cajun spiced fries and a milkshake. It was really flavored milk with a splash of ice cream. The hostess asked us to fill out comment cards and I wrote what really American milkshakes are supposed to be: ice cream with just enough milk added to make it drinkable. Sam told me this is what English milkshakes are like though, but this was an "American" diner, so it needed to be said. :p

After lunch, we scouted around some more and wound up at the bowling alley / cinema. Apparently the VIP cinema upstairs is free, but it was showing Paddington, so no. We went down stairs and played two games of bowling where I won (though, embarrassingly I did not break 100). Then we went back to the room where I enjoyed a nice long bath in the amazing tub! Then we went to get our massages. The spa was beautiful, just beautiful, with some super yummy hibiscus cold tea. My masseuse, Dana, was very pleasant and took good care of me. She gave me the same massage as my usual in Doha does (Liza). In general, I prefer Liza, but Dana also did a great job. After this, we were both pretty lethargic and headed back to the room. We ordered two mocktails to end the evening and were eventually served by the crankiest waiter I think I've ever encountered. At least we could laugh about it.

The next day, we went to breakfast again and I requested to sit by the water feature in the atrium since the day before the dozens of kids screaming during breakfast really put me off. I was told that we were not allowed to sit there as there was a group coming in at 10am. I was confused as it was only 7:30. She asked her supervisor. No. So we sat outside, but I was grouchy. Sure enough, outside were dozens of kids playing tag or something around the chairs. The food was still great though. Also, we had asked for cold milk for our tea; we were brought an entire pitcher of cold milk. We had to laugh; again, they're truly trying to accommodate us but something does not quite click yet. When we left at 8:30, I took a photo of the empty tables in the atrium.

Then we quickly changed and made our way back to the beach. We gobbed on sunscreen (twice) but somehow we still got burned (I guess spending 7 hours in the sun can do that to you). We took our lounge chairs out again but the wind / current was stronger and pushing more out to sea than towards the pier. After swimming back and forth a few times, we wound up just putting them on the edge of the beach where we could still feel the wave action, but less work to be relaxed. I read my kindle and Sam probably slept. We also saw four people float out to sea which meant the staff had to take boats out to tow them in. It was so incredibly funny. They never even thought of jumping into swim back and at a certain point they were too far away to swim back. It was hilarious.

We walked around the beach towards Q-Lounge for lunch and enjoyed some more tapas (the guacamole and beethummus are delicious) before going back for the beach, round 2. The Sri Lankan head lifeguard was very pleasant and apparently is their best swimmer. He brought us a board game: snakes and ladders. We were probably the only women swimming the whole weekend. We wondered about the local women and if they were able to swim at all. One woman next to us had a full body suit (and was one of the ones who drifted out on the lounger), but she stayed out for hours. I guess most of the families have their own villas, which have private pools so I guess this is where they can swim. It was fun to see the women who enjoyed the banana boat and one who went kayaking - fully covered.

Around 3:15, we thought we should back to freshen up for our facial that evening. Instead the South African guy came by to chat and recruited us to check out the "wave pool" (again false advertising - it is more like a wave jet). However, once we were there we figured what the heck and went for it. It was
Bowling alleyBowling alleyBowling alley

perfect form
so friggin hilarious. Oh my god - still dying of laughter. You have these bogey boards and ride the "waves" which are really just jets of water coming full force at you and upslope. When you fall off (quite often in my case), the jets push you up slope and you slam into the heavily padded back wall (cracking up just writing this!). After a few goes, I was just getting hurt and not having fun, so the instructor (another Sri Lankan - Sumesh?) gave me his smaller board which was much better; it was heavier and easier for me to manage. Once I figured out how to do it, I was able to take my board back and it was much more fun. I lasted for about the full sixty minutes. Sam, however, was absolutely loving this and caught on pretty fast. After me and my instructor left, another instructor (from the Maldives) took over her training and had her doing some fancy footwork. I got some awesome videos of her - both good shots and her wiping out. At one point, four well dressed Qatari men watched her moves. We were the only ones enjoying this at that point so the instructors were very patient and helpful with us. They said it was much more difficult with the children who they have to instruct; I guess the kids don't listen and are more excited about falling off and riding the jets anyway. After 90 minutes, Sam finally had had enough and the guys told us to relax in the Jacuzzi first. They were very friendly and talked the whole time; they seemed to be very skilled and good at their jobs, unlike the wait staff.

After this, we headed straight for the spa - I'm sure we looked atrocious: sunburn, matted hair, bathing suits and towels... But we were able to get our facials at the same time in the same room. My lady, Ercilia, was very sweet and I was so happy when we were done. I think I fell asleep twice on the bed, once to the point of having dreams of teenage mutant ninja turtles or something, and when she gobbed on the actual mask... heaven. When we were done, our faces looked and felt so wonderful. We were very happy with the spa.

We went back to the room and finally showered
SurfingSurfingSurfing

double wipeout
and moaned about our aching muscles and sunburns before heading to Riva for an Italian dinner. The menu was limited but the host was great and the food was very good. I had a lobster ravioli (minus the veal jus; I do not eat veal). Nom nom nom. We went back to the room and I started this blog and past out after 11 words...

Ok. the final morning. The morning we were dreading. When we had to go direct to work. We took showers, packed and went to breakfast. This time, the hostess asked me if I wanted to sit in the atrium on our last day. I think she was a bit embarrassed about the day before. Surprisingly, she turned away a local family from sitting next to us, giving them the same reason she gave to me the day before, so I don't know what the deal is (I was very thankful though as they had a little boy with them who was already making loud obnoxious noises). On the way back to our room, we stopped at reception and asked them to get our bags in 5 minutes (we were way too sore). When we got back to the room, our key did not work. Ugh - they had already locked us out of the room. Sam could not make it, so I went back to reception and got two new keys from Karin. On the way back, a guy stopped me and said he would be at our room at 8:10; it was 7:57. Perfect, I told him. At 8:16 we were still waiting. At 8:30, we just went to reception and said we needed to check out and to get our bags. We were very happy with the price; discounts were part of our package and included for our spa days - it came to a decent bill. Karin chatted with us and asked about our time; she was also aware of "the towel problem" we had had the first day. The guy assured us that our bags had been taken to the boat, so we got on and said goodbye to this beautiful island. When we arrived back, I gave valet my car and by the time they brought the car around, it was obvious our bags were not on the boat. So after much confusion with the land side of reception, we were basically told they still hadn't even collected the bags from our room! They were on the next boat and would arrive an hour after our own arrival. Very frustrated because they all knew we were going straight to work.

So, in summary we had soooooo much fun and it was a beautiful island, with great rooms, wonderful views, and good food. But the hospitality (unskilled) staff need a lot of training. A lot. If they want to attract western guests, they have a long way to go; there were times I felt as though my happiness was not as important as the local people's. And as mentioned above, despite the location and amenities, you can never forget you are in Qatar...


Additional photos below
Photos: 75, Displayed: 31


Advertisement

Q-loung tapasQ-loung tapas
Q-loung tapas

Guacamole and cold cuts



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb