Off the Rock


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar
May 18th 2013
Published: May 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Going home!Going home!Going home!

Moving the platform from the last spot!
Well here it is - my last day on this island! I am so excited to leave and sleep in my own bed, take a real shower, wear real clothes and put on some makeup!!! Oh, and see other women! Seriously, it is the little things that I miss right now. Cooking my own dinner. Going to watch a movie at the theater. Driving my car (even in the dreadful Doha traffic - I wonder how it has changed in the last 30 days). And having a Beer!

Yes, 30 days later and I've learned a lot. I don't know how good a long summarizing blog post would be here, so keeping in theme with my goal for the past year, I'm just going to list the many firsts that I've encountered. Definitely more than my goal of doing something new once per week!!!

1. First time to ride in a helicopter

2. First time working on a nearshore platform

3. First time logging rock cores in the field

4. First time being the ONLY woman in a complete isolated geographic location (Riverpark was my first job as an only woman, but I could go across the street for the real life and out for drinks with my girls after work...)

5. First time traveling to an isolated location for work

6. First time to work 30 STRAIGHT 12-hour days.

7. First time to be a little afraid for my safety at work (may be discussed further in a future blog)

8. First time to not spend a dime for an extended period of time

9. First time work on a boat

10. First time to puke on a boat (not seasickness)

11. First time I ever wished I was a guy (the peeing thing alone was difficult!)

12. First time to hold a wild bird

13. First time to get core casing stuck

14. First time to try using a cutting tool on casing

15. First time break the chain on the rig

16. First time to work with multiple marine captains

17. First time to coordinate a massive project in the office AND in the field (thankfully, not by myself!)

18. First time to wear cloth coveralls (every single day!)

19. First time to have someone else do my laundry since I was 14 (every single day!)

20. First time to not cook for an extended period of time

21. First time to work night shift

22. First time to climb a rope ladder

23. First time to see incredible geology in the field! The hematite was my favorite

24. First time to access my work email on a non-work computer (this could be the end of everything good)

25. First time to see the dismantling of such a large piece of equipment

26. First time to see turtle nesting grounds where eggs have been laid recently, and turtle tracks!

Advertisement



18th May 2013

That's a lot of firsts for you
Hello Pookie Thanks for the blog post. Although I'm sure it was difficult on the platform at times, it sounds like you learned a lot and I bet you will be able to apply what you learned later in your career. The Ventucky crowd is very proud of our little Pokerbot. Cheers, Romsa
20th May 2013

Wow
That's a lot of firsts! Glad you survived, glad you learned a lot, and glad you're 'home' safely!! :)

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb