Still in the gulf....


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar
May 9th 2013
Published: May 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

21 days later, and I'm still here working! That's a long time to go without a break - there are no holidays or weekends here. My coworkers have been here longer than I so I can't complain too much. Instead, I spend my days dreaming about what I will finally do when I DO have time off!

Since I last wrote, we had not moved a centimeter from that spot where we had troubles. We had weather, then a small fire on board (which needed to be investigated for protocol and parts replaced), more weather, and then trying to pull out our casing which was stuck. Day 1 was not successful in using a tool that was supposed to be our solution. Day 2 was even worse as we tried to modify the solution which worked in more broken equipment. Yesterday, Day 2, I was close to tears on the platform, hiding behind my big sunglasses - thankfully, I have only squeezed out two tears total. Today was Day 3 in the adventure of trying to move - after having received all of our parts needed and weather abating - and finally, FINALLY it was a success. Everyone was so happy!!! We all cheered as soon as we saw that our alternate solution #5 worked out even better than we thought it would! Even the fact that the wind had picked up, meaning we couldn't move to our next spot, even that could not bring us down!!!

So, there are a couple more days of weather and then we will move to the next location, which should be quick. Then we will have just one more spot to go to before we are DONE! I am really hoping I will be gone this time next week, but that is wishful thinking (want to go to my friend's baby shower...).

Either way, it looks like I WILL be able to make a trip to Istanbul to visit with some college friends at the end of the month. Woohoo!

Hopefully soon I will have more interesting blogs for you all! In the meantime, send positive energy/thoughts this way so that I can go home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



10th May 2013

Sending positive thoughts your way
I hope everything is going well for you. I love the pictures.
11th May 2013

Fun!?!?!
Well, at least it's an adventure...even if not one of your choosing, you're getting good stories and experience out of it! :) And as a bonus, you're entertaining all of us! :)
11th May 2013
Fixing the rig

Hang in there
It's crazy ur still there and even crazier the u had a visitor too! How long did that bird stay? What an attension horror! Seriously, that bird got around!!!! No tears!!!! U can do it!!!!! Hold onto Istanbul! Jealous of that trip, btw!!! Luv luv!!!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb