Censorship isn't dead


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar
February 9th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, although I'm living in one of the more progressive Middle Eastern countries, censorship is alive and well. First, I was banned from buying books from amazon.com and then I received this message when I tried to visit a web site. I'm willing to bet this is one of the country's biggest government departments...the Ministry of Agriculture building I parked at today--not so much. What, pray tell, can you farm in a desert!?

Speaking of deserts, just for clarification for those who are "so pretty", a desert safari is quite different than the African safari I'm going on in June. The desert safari we're going on tomorrow involves a quest to find sand, sand and more sand. We're going dune buggy bashing and sandskiing, and then we're sleeping in a traditional tent with cushions and shisha pipes. All of you know that I do not smoke, but I tried (and quite enjoyed) Shisha in NY, so I think I will try it again. However, I also discovered that it's equivalent to smoking two packs of cigarettes--um, there go my healthy pink lungs! I'm also curious to discover what "desert toilets" mean. I might be holding it in for 18 hours! Not the easiest when you're drinking crazy amounts of water to stay hydrated.



Advertisement



9th February 2006

No books? What the...will you be able to get them sent to you from friends/family?
13th February 2006

Subtle
Don't think I don't know that you weren't directing that comment to me...

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb