Moving in


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
February 1st 2013
Published: February 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

SheratonSheratonSheraton

one of my site visit locations - not bad
The last 10 days or so were a whirlwind. I found an apartment that I liked, but it took sometime for my office to arrange it. I was supposed to move in last week, but since I couldn't I took an impromptu quick trip to Dubai. I hung out with Jamie, saw a movie with Samar, did some errands and upset Melvin for not calling him. Sorry Melvin!!! 😞 The flight to Dubai on Qatar Airways was extremely long - very crowded, unfriendly cabin attendents and caught in an hour long holding pattern over the gulf. Then we were parked at the complete end of the airport, having to take a bus back and I thanked god for my E-gate!

Sunday night I stayed in the Mercure Hotel in Doha, definitely a step up from Ezdan though it seems impossible to find a place that does not have construction noise throughout the night in Doha... And finally, Monday afternoon, I was able to move in to my new place. YAY! It's actually my company's but it is cheaper than a hotel. Much quieter and significantly closer to the office - about 20 minutes away now!

Tuesday was an extremely
Almas TowerAlmas TowerAlmas Tower

lit up outside my Dubai apartment
busy day. I had an early site visit across town, then a presentation to attend at our big client's. I was very excited because the Qatari head of our project was happy to meet me and even shook my hand. Generally, women and men do not physically touch and it is even more unusual to find a local shake hands with women. It is not insulting; it is just not done. I always wait for the men to extend their hands as a go-ahead for me to shake. Some do, some don't. I don't get offended, but I remember the ones who do shake.

The presentation went very well, though the meeting following was long, so I wound up going shopping for supplies for my new place. That evening I went with my American co-workers to the souk for dinner. We ate this time at an Iraqi place. Never had Iraqi food; it seemed very typical, just with different names. Photos of the food included, of course.

And finally, I had three major reports due at the end of the week. Two done, one in review, and so my weekend is my own and I plan to find
Iraqi FoodIraqi FoodIraqi Food

Chicken tikka and Lamb Kouzi - YUM
some supplies for my new home...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd February 2013

Man, you have been busy!
Hello Buttercup Wow, what a week. You had a lot going on. Can't wait to see you in March. Send more updates when you can. I should be able to pick you up from the airport, so we can talk about that in late Feb. Cheers.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb