Muscat, Oman


Advertisement
Oman's flag
Middle East » Oman » Muscat
August 20th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The capital of Oman is Muscat, although the city is widely spread out and there are several townships in Greater Muscat. I stayed in one of the residential areas near Qurm, but the commercial district is in Ruwi. There is a fresh fish market and an amazing souq in Mutrah, where I could buy some souvinirs. The palace and the government is situated in a small area called Muscat, whose atmosphere is quite different from the others. As in Dubai, one can find a few palace-like hotels in the southern shore of Muscat.

People in Muscat are generally friendly. I feel especially so because I just came from Dubai where money and time seemed to be more of a priority. Taxi drivers were keen to talk to me with their minimal English, although I believed they had overcharged me a lot. But who is to blame? The only transport around town is by taxi, and being a foreign visitor looked like I would be wealthy (though I am definitely not). Anyway, the place gave me a fairly good first impression of a country I would be going to visit for a short while.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MuscatMuscat
Muscat

What it looks like in a Muscat suburb.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb