Day 8: Playing Dead by the Dead Sea


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » West » Dead Sea
April 4th 2009
Published: April 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is the penultimate day of the trip. Today is a day of rest. Today, we are playing Dead!

After a very relaxing night's sleep, breakfast came round at 08h00 - in a restaurant. What luxury!

To be totally honest, I have done nothing today apart from upload my blog as it's the first day with any internet access - albeit using the link belong to the hotel next door!

The only thing I have done today is swim in the Dead Sea - enjoy the photos, I'm not writing any more - I'm on holiday!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Early Morning Dead SeaEarly Morning Dead Sea
Early Morning Dead Sea

View from my balcony.
View from my balconyView from my balcony
View from my balcony

I've been very lucky. Although my room faces away from the hotel, I do look onto the Dead Sea, the Occupied West Bank and the gardens belonging to the hotel next door. My fellow travellers have rooms over the corridor which, although look directly onto the Dead Sea, also overlook the unfinished part of the hotel which is a building site!!!!!
Look away nowLook away now
Look away now

Yes - that white thing really is me - floating in the Dead Sea.
The Wierdest Thing I've Done?The Wierdest Thing I've Done?
The Wierdest Thing I've Done?

Possibly! It's such a strange sensation floating. One can get just beyond the knees and then the buoyancy kicks in and you almost fall over. The sea is so dense that it appears to be oily and rocks float! Trying to get out takes some skill as you can't just put your feet down - they bob back up again. Standing in the sun results in a fine coat of salt crystals - most odd!
Hotel GardensHotel Gardens
Hotel Gardens

Lots of Bougainvillea abound in the gardens - I'm sure it will look even more pretty when the hotel is finished and the Dead Sea no longer drops 9' a year!


12th October 2009

Staying in Dead Sea, Jordan
Hi Ever onward! I was wondering, where did you stay while in the Dead Sea area in Jordan? Your hotel looks really nice! I hope to hear from you, and thank you in advance! Denisse

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb