Floating around in the dead sea


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » West » Dead Sea
September 5th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I went to the dead sea this morning (7:30AM) with a couple other kids from my group. It was a blast! We caught a cab from Amman to the Dead Sea, only 20JD one way. Not to bad considering we just flagged down a cab (the buses don't run during Ramadan). We went to a hotel called the Dead Sea Spa for the day. 15JD to use their pool, changing rooms, and private beach. It was GREAT! the pool had a sweet water slide, and we spent pretty much the entire day going in and out of the pool, considering it was around 120 degrees Fahrenheit!

The Sea itself was one of the coolest things I have ever experienced. Well, perhaps cool isn't the right word because it was so HOT! it wasn't so bad early in the morning, but the temperature of the water by 1 was almost uncomfortably warm. Also, it was salty enough that the scrapes I had incurred from the water slide hurt like a mother! Even if you had shaved recently it burned, even my chin stung. Needless to say the girls were having a rough time! It was way more buoyant than I had thought it would be. Floating on your back is like sitting in chair, I could even put my hands behind my head! The mud was pretty cool to, we just slathered it on and hoped for soft skin or whatever, dunno if it worked but we sure looked funny. We were home by 5. a bit sunburned and exhausted, but it was definitely worth the effort!

Advertisement



6th October 2008

great post
Hi great post about the Dead Sea One day I hope to get to travel there someday.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb