Jordan


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
August 8th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Egypt on a hot evening and arrived in Jordan on an even hotter night. A quick word of advice to everyone: try to avoid going to the Middle East during summer time. I have no idea what I was thinking. One nice thing was the lack of tourist which made it easy to get around and really enjoy Petra in peace and quiet.

I spent two days in Amman seeing the sights and researching a good tour to take to Petra (one of the new Wonders of the world) if you have never heard of it then google it or watch "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade". I ended up taking a bus down the Kings Highway which ran through an assortment of Castles and monasteries and breathtaking views of the Dead Sea. After a day of quick stops to take a few photos I ended up in Wadi Rom, the small town near Petra.

I bought a 3 day pass to the park and used every minute of it. On the first day I followed all the other tourist and saw the Monastery and the Treasury. Next day I ventured a bit off the main path but still not to far off trail. On the third day I headed to the hills and explored the mountains in the area, it was so beautiful but I had to be careful not to get too lost cause it was hot and I mean hot. By the end I was so tired I had been hiking for 3 days and then hopped on an overnight bus back to Amman.

The first thing I did the next day was take a one hour bus to The Dead Sea. Then I Just floated and floated in the salty water. I have never felt anything like it you can almost walk on water there is so much salt. At one point I tasted the water and my tongue burned for half an hour it was crazy.

Next Stop Dubai.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

End of the dayEnd of the day
End of the day

Even the Camels were getting some rest.
I was very lost at this point..I was very lost at this point..
I was very lost at this point..

then I came across this little tree.. The park is so big you could spend days there and keep finding more and more caves.


25th August 2008

Jordan
Great pictures! We have many of the same sights when Derek was there. I hope you and Derek get to connect. Love, Dana

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb