Petra, Jordan


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
July 3rd 2022
Published: August 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

The next day started off with another car ride, this time to Petra. After settling into our hotel room, my sister, dad and I went to eat lunch- gyro meat for them and falafel for me- before adventuring through the ruins of Petra. We rode horses a part of the way there and continued on foot after reaching the start of the impressive towers of rock. Contributing to the magnificence were the carvings on the rocks- the broken pediment of that famous Petra temple, the rendering of a camel, and the tombs scattered throughout the mountains overlooking tables of knickknacks. We left by mode of a go-cart and went back to the hotel. We ended the night by eating at the “Cave Bar” which is supposedly the oldest bar in the world.



The next morning we woke up early to walk through Petra again, but this time going a bit further. My family decided to walk the 800 steps to see the monastery. I, however, the once-energetic old lady that I am, chose not to see this sight and instead I waited at the bottom where a woman let me sit by her and her table of goods and even gave me a pastry and Jordian tea. Along the way we were met by a bunch of cute little puppies that my dad thought my stepmom, sister and I focused a bit too much on. We then had lunch before setting off for our next adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Me and MajaMe and Maja
Me and Maja

The Treasury-Petra


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb