Deacon Peter


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » West Bank » Jericho
March 29th 2014
Published: March 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Bedouin EncampmentBedouin EncampmentBedouin Encampment

Where are the tents?
Today started with Mass on Calvary, we climbed some very steep steps from near the tomb to the top of the hill of Calvary where Msgr. Foynes celebrated Mass. Needless to say it was really moving. After mass I knelt and reverenced the spot where the cross stood and there is now a square hole in the stone. Making the sign of the cross afterward was a sensation I’ll never forget and a esture I’ll likely never take for granted again.

Next stop was Ancient Esscene community of Qumron, the place is famous for two things, it is probably where John the Baptist began his adult formation in the faith, and also the group who wrote the Dead Sea Scrolls, which give us the oldest known complete copy of Isaiah. We then went down a little further to the oldest and lowest elevation city in the world, Jericho. Famous for the battle of Joshua who took the city and for the story of Zechius who climbed a Sycamore tree to see Jesus. We stopped at a Sycamore tree in Jericho … who knows. Jericho is in the state of Palestine, we had to cross the border and a check point to enter.

On the way to Qumron we passed a few Bedouin encampments. It was news to me there still were Bedouins. They still wander the Middle East looking for food and water for their herds. A grueling dangerous and difficult life to be sure.

It is very poor all over Palestine and I expected an icy reception. I finished lunch ahead of the group and was walking toward a coffee shop where it was obvious they didn’t get a lot of tourists. Just as I was about to enter, a police officer stopped me and asked if I was American, I was pretty nervous about this for a lot of reasons, not the least of which was because he was holding a machine gun. I responded that I was, he said to me, “you are most welcome in Palestine, enjoy your stay with us”. The people there couldn’t have been more hospitable.

As we were at the mount of temptation we climbed a pretty good distance to a Greek Orthodox monastery, which was closed, but as we were enjoying the view, four young women from Palestine who spoke no English came up to me and I finally figured out they wanted to take a picture with me. We took the pictures and they went away very happy. I wonder who they thought I was.?

We made it to the Dead Sea 1,300 feet below sea level. Many of the group went in, I didn’t I don’t like being wet and I HATE being salty after being in the ocean so this didn’t hold a lot of appeal for me. I had some coffee and tea at the bar which had a sign that it is the lowest bar on earth…and all this time I thought that distinction went to one of the places on Dale Mabry in Tampa.

What a blessing this trip has been. The Holy sites have been a clear highlight but the people are just wonderful.

Tomorrow we walk from Pilot’s house to Calvary while praying the stations. I understand it isn’t a long walk…if you haven’t been scourged half to death, crowned with thorns and forced to carry a railroad tie the whole way.



Peace & blessings from the Holy City


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bust of Mary next to where the cross stoodBust of Mary next to where the cross stood
Bust of Mary next to where the cross stood

And your own heart a sword shall pierce ~ Simeon
Ritual baths at QumronRitual baths at Qumron
Ritual baths at Qumron

Where John learned to baptize?
The lowest bar on earthThe lowest bar on earth
The lowest bar on earth

Sorry Joe Reddner
Women who wanted my Picture w themWomen who wanted my Picture w them
Women who wanted my Picture w them

who knew I had fans in Palestine
Brother GrouchyBrother Grouchy
Brother Grouchy

Kept shoeing us away from the closed monastery.
Part of a very large flockPart of a very large flock
Part of a very large flock

What you can't see in this pic is the shepherd...on his cell phone


29th March 2014

Thank you
Am so happy you are walking in His footsteps, it changes everything when you read scripture and pray the rosary. God Bless your journey.
30th March 2014

Green
Peter, what wonderful adventure you are having, of course, I'm green with envy! I'm enjoying your pictures, keep them coming. And please pray for me. God bless you!
30th March 2014
Women who wanted my Picture w them

They must be music fans. They heard you are Peter Andre'
30th March 2014
Brother Grouchy's home

Was that his real name, or your name for him?
30th March 2014

This is great!!
This blog is wonderful. I studied all of this recently in my humanities class. This is a great once in a life time trip. I will be reading as you go. What a treat.
30th March 2014

Hi back from Florida!
Hi Peter, Great photos and captions, and I am enjoying your blog very much. Please carry my prayers with you and say a Hail Mary somewhere for me. Looking forward to more of your blog! Is Patti with you? Claudia

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb