Beteavon (Good eating)


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
October 17th 2013
Published: October 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1385065_617618894946465_1136209559_n1385065_617618894946465_1136209559_n1385065_617618894946465_1136209559_n

Where's Sarah? [Group Photo from Dead Sea/Ein Geidi last Thursday]
Betaavon! This means “good eats” or something similar to that in Hebrew. I say this because I am sitting in my “go to” coffee shop on Dizengoff enjoying some coffee and cookies. I also have heard this phrase many times from the locals in Tel Aviv, or even on a bus on the way back from a volunteer day when I am eating raw broccoli out of my back pack. True story..this happened to me last night, a local bus rider looked at me and said “Brocoli for dinner, lady? You are what you eat. Betaavon.” I replied “Todah Rabah!” Thanks , locals. I was speaking to another local at the bus stop in Shoham (this is the city where I volunteer in) and explaining to him about my time here in Israel, what I’m doing, etc. He said “You are volunteering for fun? You must be Mother Theresa’s daughter or have a Rabbi for a father.” Although I do not fit either of the above written categories, I am blessed with wonderful parents J Speaking of my volunteering, I went to a new volunteer site on Tuesday. This is called the ON school, and it’s located about 25 minutes out of the heart of Tel Aviv (I say the heart of Tel Aviv because this is where I live.) I took a bus there, and this was only my second time taking a bus as a mode of public transportation so to ease my public transportation anxiety in Tel Aviv I chowed down on a banana and cereal on the bus ride there, and made sure to ask the local bus riders I was on the right path to my destination. I arrived at the school and went in to meet the staff I coordinated with. Since I go there just a few times, it seemed hard to place me somewhere, and I was very flexible with them, which was beyond ok with me. I was just happy to be in a new volunteer setting and experience a school in Israel. The goal of the school is what got me interested, so I thought I’d give them a try. The ON school is aimed to working with handicapped children ages 6-21 with a goal to maintain and improve children’s physical situation in order to be able to the maximum they can in their conditions. They placed me to help out in the physiotherapy room to help the students with movement in a class. The students, most of them in wheel chairs, are taken out for duration of the hour to roll on mats, and play games like Simon Says. I was happy to understand some simple words during these including “cova” (head) and “yad” (hand). I was happy to help out in this atmosphere, and took away some great skills and thoughts about the experience. The team was very welcoming, and I was happy to work with them for the day. I find that no matter where I go, in any professional situation, working with a good team is the most important aspect of the atmosphere.



Yesterday (Wednesdays) volunteering was with Daniella to teach English again. The most challenging part of this, like I have said before, is the language barrier between myself and the students. It’s challenging yet motivating and a positive learning experience because it forces me to use different means of communication, and forces me to learn more Hebrew and remind myself of the Hebrew words that I have in my own person “Hebrew word bank. Yesterday a girl asked me “kelev?” because she wanted to know the spelling of this word in English. It reminded me that I knew what the word “kelev” means—dog. I also find the behaviors challenging too—as mentioned in previous blogs. I used the word “shecket” (quiet) a hand full of times yesterday during our card matching game. Of course the disciple of behaviors is not up to me—but I still have the authority to help regulate the discipline as much as I can as an English speaker. Another skill I enjoy watching Daniella teach is how to write the English letters; She teaches the students that each letter has a “belly” and you should not lift up your “eparone” (pencil) until you see the belly of the letter.



Salsa lessons, round two! Yes friends, I went to Salsa again last night in Rechovot, where my friend Reuven teaches salsa lessons. It was yet another awesome experience, and a lesson in Hebrew! Luckily, I was also partnered up with the instructor’s assistant who was translating a handful of the salsa lesson for me. I am proud to say I think my salsa skills improved since my lesson in Hebrew 2 weeks ago (and I am not the only one who said this; Reuven backed me up on that. Hope he wasn’t just saying that to make me feel good! ) I had a great time, and hope to go back yet again before my departure from Israel.



The journey of my travels and days always has me relate back to the term “free bird” because I truly am. This trip has offered me a variety of experiences to learn about myself, going out of my “comfort zone” and using skills/strengths I may use had I been traveling with a group of people. This includes taking public transportation. At home I have easy access to a car, but here, I am forced to take public transportation, or walk. This has helped me take away to “anxiety” of public transportation and learning the schedules. I’ve also learned how to navigate easier, and improved my map reading skills. I do not call myself an expert by any means but I can look at a map and feel more comfortable about the navigation now, mazel tov to myself.



After being immersed in the Israeli culture for almost 3 weeks, and being surrounded by mostly Hebrew as a first language speakers, I have noticed a small rub off of the English speaking skills (or should I say lack of proper English speaking skills.) I find myself leaving out adjectives sometimes of a sentence when I speak around my Israeli friends, because this is how they speak very often. I hope this is just a case of being immersed in the culture, and when I am back to America it will be normal again. My friend, Snir, even correct me on my English grammar a couple of times. Uh oh!

The time is now about 17:00 (5:00), and this means, according to the schedule I made for myself, it’s time for Israeli fitness class.

Happy weekend!

Love,

Ms. Sarah

I leave you with a video of my Shakshuka experience from last weekend with my awesome Israeli friends 😊....



[youtube=


Advertisement



17th October 2013

Enjoyed seeing you on the video. You look beautiful Your adventures are awe inspiring. As always you are amazing! You are indeed a 'free bird'. Love, g an d g

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb