Russians, French, and an American beach bum


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
October 8th 2013
Published: October 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

ggg,jpgggg,jpgggg,jpg

Shopping for groceries on Dizengoff
Today was another beach bum day....I think this tallies as number 4 for the beach days thus far in Tel Aviv. I met some more new friends today...l'chaim (to life) to that! My French friend (Remember Davy?) Introduced me to his Russian friend, Margarita (her name is no joke my friends. Margartia from Moscow, Russia.) In addition, Margarita has a friend visiting her right now, Nikita. I call them my -ita Russian friends. We spent nearly 3 hours on the beach, and it was quite windy today. I was told today may be one of the last sunny days in Tel Aviv but I sure hope that is a wrong telling....

I'm around non-traditional English speakers quite a bit, and I'm starting to enjoy it more and more every time I am surrounded by them. I find it fascinating to see how they use certain words in sentences (most of the time it is the wrong grammer) and I find it intriguing to correct them on the words. I am for sure no grammar expert, but I can easily correct their words. I find that non-English speakers make many of the same common mistakes no matter what country they are from. One mistake I noticed today with my Russian and French, (and I've seen this in my Israeli friends) is the term "We are Tuesday." What they mean to say is "Is it Tuesday?" Another common mistake I've picked up is not adding a "s" to the end of certain words--for example my friend says "Are you going to Snir house?" (Instead of Snir's.) I don't say these observations to make judgments--I say it to point out common mistakes that we, as English speakers can help fix 😊 I've also loved teaching my non American friends the words toddlers and infants. I taught this word to my Russian friends today! I also taught them the term "beach bum" because I referred to us as beach bums many times today and they said "What is this beach bum?!"

It's a short blog--I know, but I like to blog as much as possible because I seem to forgot important stories much too quick. Tomorrow is not a beach bum day for me...I will be volunteering with the Israeli children and Daniella 😊

Peace and love,

Ms. Sarah

Advertisement



8th October 2013

Sounds like you are really having a glorious time being a 'beach bum.' More power to you! Have a great day tomorrow volunteering with your Israeli children and Daniella.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb