Shabbat Shalom


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
October 5th 2013
Published: October 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

DSCN7522DSCN7522DSCN7522

(Left to Right): Reuven's girlfriend, Mom, Sister, me, Reuven. Shabbat Shalom
Happy Saturday and Shabbat Shalom. Shabbat in Israel is ofcourse much different than a Shabbat I am used to back home. Here in Israel, things stop, stores shut down, and of course, if you are in Jerusalem it is a whole different story...the city truly is at rest. I spent my Shabbat evening with Reuven's family. They live in Rehovot, a 20 minute train ride from Tel Aviv. I'm glad to say I feel more comfortable riding the Israeli train system over the New York subway system...I never quite learned that New York subway system but for some reason a train system in a different language strikes me as easier to understand! I met Reuven's whole family and girlfriend! I was very happy to spend the night eating a delicious home cooked meal instead of the food I have been cooking in my apartment (Eggs, oatmeal, cereal, granola bars and nuts; a true backpackers diet.) The food was great; offered was a variety of meats including chicken wings, meat balls, lemon chicken, Israeli salad, potatoes, cabbage, challah, and chocolate cake for dessert. Our conversation at dinner was mostly exchanging words with each other (I teaching them English and them teaching me
DSCN7529DSCN7529DSCN7529

Shabbat Dinner
Hebrew.) Of course, I have already forgotten the majority of Hebrew I learned from them. I love immersing myself into the culture of Israel but I find it very hard to learn herbrew, especially when I am not using it enough. I taught them some words including toddler, infant, cabbage, and nail polish. I also learned a game called Taci...which I find to be very similar to UNO.

Today I have enjoyed being a beach bum again. This time however, I was happy to meet some new friends living in my apartment building who are on the same program as me (mostly Americans.) I had not met too many people from my program because I came at the beginning of the week when everyone was working at their internships. The beach was beautiful today and I regret to inform you I did get some sunburn (despite the fact that I WAS wearing sunscreen.)

The plan for tomorrow is to begin my volunteering so wish me luck on that! I will also be meeting with my friend Zohar briefly I think (before she heads off to Germany for a year...)

Shalom and kisses,

Ms. Sarah

Advertisement



5th October 2013

good luck Saran on your volunteering. You will be sababa. Shalom and kisses

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb