Tel Aviv here I come !!!


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
February 28th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Got to Luton around 920am and Nathan had organised through the easyjet ticket desk which is run by Menzies a speedyboarding for me which came in quite handy...

I bought 3 doughnuts from KrispyCreme and the guy said for another £1.45 I can get 3 more so guess what heheh.

The flight was uneventful howevr during the decent to Tel Aviv there was a ligtning bolt which was a little scary but the cabin crew said don't worry it happens all the time.

The Ben Gurion airport walk to the immigration area is very grand with a very tall ceiling and it looks really nice...

I was expecting some excitement at the immigration as always but they asked me why I was visitng, for how long I was staying, my fathers name and my grand fathers name. Asked me if they were born in Sri Lanka, why I applied for the visa in the UK and when I said I was a permanent resident they asked how long I have been living and that was it. She spoke to a supervisor over the phone and even though the embassy gave me a visa for 3 months they reduced it to 1 month. It didn't matter because I was only staying for 12 days. I got the feeling that she was looking at a screen while she was asking for my parental information as if she already had the answers in front of her....

Finding the train station was not difficult and the train ride to Tel Aviv cost 14 shekels

I wanted to get a sim card but that was a very expensive deal it cost a 100 shekels for the sim and another 250 to top it up that's like 70 pounds....it is probably cheaper outside...

Got down at Azriel center stop and had to walk to the bus stops to catch bus 63 to get to Habima that's where the Habima theatre is and that's where I had to ge on to Rothschild blvd to get to Ariks place...

Found it quite easily and I met Arik and Shaid his flat mate...

His flat mate was leaving the house and hence there were people coming to see the room. Apparently in Tel Aviv since this kind of accomodation is not in abundance there is a large amount of interest from people and loads of peole came to see the place...

We went to a bar called Rothschild 12 later on and it was a really happening place it is true this city does not sleep...and the girls are unbelievably pretty I might have to change my mind about former Yugoslavian girls...

The bar was quite expensive a Mojito was like 38 shekels and the local Arak was about 12 shekels

In Israel there is a local spirit called Arak and it taste and looks very different to the Arrak in Sri lanka and it is drunk in much smaller quantities...

After the bar we had pizza and a quarter cost 13 shekels and we got back home around 2am

Advertisement



12th March 2010

:-)
Yr very descriptive.. which is nice :-) whn do u plan on adding the rest of the "chronicles"?
9th May 2010

Interesting!
Hi Vaj, It was interesting to find your postings. And proud to have a Sri Lankan crossign borders that most of Sri Lankans do not think of. for the last 5 years I was travelling in about 9 countries and your postings make me think I should also start blogging my travels before I forget. Keep in touch! sam

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb