Arriving in Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
December 1st 2005
Published: December 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On the plane on the way from Holland to Israel, I thought about what it was that I wanted to accomplish on this trip. Getting to Israel in the first place seemed like such a miracle. I didn't want to have the whole trip pass as just a tourist venture. What would I do when I walked off the plane, onto Israeli soil? What would I think, what would I feel?

I wrote in my journal:

I want to hurt. I want to be sad because I can't be in the land, and when I finally put my foot on it, I want to feel as if I've truely come home. Not because the people there accept me, because, quite possibly, they won't. But I want to know that I've come home because this is the land that was promised to us. I'm G-d's child and a child of Abraham, a member of the covenant. I'm not just visiting another foreign country. I'm coming home...

I watched out the window of the plane until I saw the light of Tel Aviv shining through the darkness. My heart started beating faster. The second the wheels touched on Israeli soil,
Mom and JuliannaMom and JuliannaMom and Julianna

There's both ready to go, but Mom's wishing we could skip the plane part.
I burst into tears. It truely felt as if I had come home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Great picture!!Great picture!!
Great picture!!

Looking over some of the pictures we got in Amsterdam


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb