Vacation and Kibbutz Lotan


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District
January 25th 2006
Published: January 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So much has happened since I was last in touch...time has flown by unbelievably quickly!
After a bit of a hectic ending, the semester did come to a close, and immediately afterwards I flew out of Israel to Chicago. I had a very short, but nice visit with family and friends. I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to catch up with everyone.
I am now back in Israel, but the second semester of school doesn't begin until the middle of February. Until then, our group is learning and volunteering on a Kibbutz in the Southern Arava Desert. The Kibbutz is called Kibbutz Lotan. This is a fantastic place. It's mission statement is to be a source for Reform Zionist Eco-friendly living. The people are friendly, interesting, and they love what they do. The scenary is unbelievable. I am being engaged physically in our volunteer work and ideologically through our sessions and seminars with Kibbutz members. I am happy, relaxed, and really feeling at-home. I am loving my time here. I can't load pictures on-line from the Kibbutz because this computer is old, but I will have many beautiful pictures to share when I go back to Haifa in February. Until then, Lotan does have a website at www.kibbutzlotan.com, which might help you get a better feel for the magical place that I am living in for the month.
Be in touch!

Advertisement



17th February 2006

Mari what a wonderful kibutz to be at! hope your having alot of fun!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb