Bet Guvrin-Maresha and answers to my class


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
March 20th 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we went to Bet- Guvrin –Maresha National Park. We saw lots of giant caves that people lived in thousands of years ago. In one cave, there were hundreds of little niches where people used to raise pigeons. They raised them for food fertilizer and sacrificing purposes. In another cave, there was an olive presser where a donkey would walk around in circles. The donkey would be attached to the presser, and the presser would squeeze the oil from the olives. There were baths carved into many caves. One of my favorite caves was the Bell Cave. It was very large and curvy. It had a brownish-white color. It had carvings on the inside. There are caves everywhere in Israel.

Now, to answer some questions from my class! It was really cool to be around all of those tropical fish. It was like diving into a fish bowl! I’m not used to living in Israel, because not many people speak English here and I miss all of you in America. I hope you had a fun St. Patrick’s Day, too! The big holiday here right now is Purim. It is like a mix of the Fourth of July and Halloween. They light fireworks, wear costumes, have parades, and dance. We went to some fun Purim events! Please tell Aiden S. that I am glad he likes my photos. I am having fun traveling around and seeing things!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Pigeon cavePigeon cave
Pigeon cave

They dug thousands of nitches for pigeons to roost.
Stairs dug our of the rockStairs dug our of the rock
Stairs dug our of the rock

These were in the residential caves
Olive PressOlive Press
Olive Press

They had a huge olive press operation in the caves
me in the cavesme in the caves
me in the caves

I am moving from room to room.
The top of the hillThe top of the hill
The top of the hill

This is where the city once stood.


22nd March 2011

Simialr
Some of the things you are seeing are similar to those I have seen in other countries. The olive pressing wheel (Greece), the cave homes (Turkey and Greece), and the pidgeon holes (Egypt). Your pictures are tickling my memory.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb