Hovering Above Tiberias


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Tiberias
February 28th 2017
Published: December 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

What is not frothy is where I am right now. I am seated on a huge private balcony overlooking the Sea of Galilee. I began the day grumbling about having to move hotels because of a large incoming pilgrim group. And it wasn’t until I came out here to read and write that I get it. Being out here is a gift. Drifting up from the streets I get the hum of Tiberias street life. I get the smell of its early spring fragrance, I get birds chirping their songs. Most importantly, I get the Sea of Galilee, where Jesus chose to work and live, glowing a timeless grey-blue in the not quite distance. There are palm trees and ancient walls. And then there is me perched above it all, an unexpectant seer.

What makes it all the more wonderful is that it was completely unlooked for. I didn’t even notice it for a while as I was content to grumble and grouse. Again, I am made aware of my need to stop trying to always be in control and to just let God take the reins. All that is left for me to do is to look up and smile with gladness.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 118; dbt: 0.1772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb