a trip to Jerusalem - the holy city


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
September 7th 2015
Published: September 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Having always been very interested in history, I had been looking forward to my trip to Jerusalem for months. It is hard to believe that it has finally happened, and the experience has certainly not disappointed me. Jerusalem is not only the Holy City of the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim faiths; it is also a place where time literally seems to have stood still. On many trips to other areas of the world, I was a bit saddened to simply see what amount to replicas of ancient and historic buildings. This was certainly not the case in Jerusalem. I walked down cobblestone streets that really made me feel like I had gone back thousands of years in time. Many of the shops and homes that I had the privilege of seeing were ancient and historic . Low ceilings, rock structures, and dusty floors told the stories of countless generations of people that had stayed there before.While there, I was able to walk the path that historians say Jesus took on his path to the crucifixion. This is still well laid out within the city. I was also able to observe the Wailing Wall where I saw crowds of devout Jewish people praying and crying out to their God. It was interesting to think about the rich history of this place and the millions of people that have walked the very path I did during my trip. In addition to all of this, I was able to spend time talking to some of the most wonderful people I have ever met on any of my journeys. Many of the people I spoke to are members of families that have lived in Jerusalem for many generations. They have seen their fair share of heartache and turmoil, but they are also a people that are very proud of their history. That showed in the way they kept up their businesses and homes. a trip to Jerusalem was exactly the way I envisioned it to be, and I do not imagine much has changed in the past hundred years.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb