The Journey!


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After arriving at Gatwick around 6am, I caught the shuttle to Heathrow and sat around waiting for the counters to open. After a raft of police and sniffing dogs checked the area, El Al opened up and promptly informed me that no, I could not check in early and ditch my bags with them. Undeterred, I paid through the nose and left them with the Heathrow service. I had a lovely afternoon wandering around London: through Hyde Park, up to Marble Arch, along Oxford Street and through Mayfair, followed Regent Street to Piccadilly, down to Pall Mall and the Mall and over to Trafalgar, just in time to get caught in a torrential downpour. I caught the bus back to Piccadilly, then a long, soggy bus tube back out to the airport.

After some long, nauseating, but probably inevitable encounters with El Al's formidable but polite security officials, I got on the overnight flight and woke up as the sun rose over Israel. Once on the ground, I was out of the airport in 30 minutes and on the shared taxi to Jerusalem. We took the highway out of Tel Aviv and into the foothills, past settlements and little towns
After the rain After the rain After the rain

In the park
- it was gorgeous and weird and fascinating. Then after a quick detour past the Old City to drop some people off, I was at the apartment in Ramat Eshkol and safe in Heather's care.

After a delicious breakfast, we wandered around the neightbourhood until I crashed HARD from exhaustion. Heather let me sleep in the afternoon, then we had an equally delicious dinner in the apartment and sat and talked as the sun went down and the call to prayer went out (I was so, so thrilled to hear it again - it's a singularly beautiful sound)

Now it's bedtime, but tomorrow - Nablus! Can't wait...
- Jordan


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Regent StreetRegent Street
Regent Street

I Heart Georgian Architecture
Piccadilly Circus Piccadilly Circus
Piccadilly Circus

Under construction
Long, patriotic viewLong, patriotic view
Long, patriotic view

To Buckingham Palace
Trafalgar SquareTrafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square

A little wet
More Sunrise in IsraelMore Sunrise in Israel
More Sunrise in Israel

The foothills of the mountains (ancient Judea) come rising out of Tel Aviv's coastal plain
Warning: ConstructionWarning: Construction
Warning: Construction

An Israeli settlement continues growing
Old City Walls!Old City Walls!
Old City Walls!

Out the grimy back window of the shuttle van
Courtyard!Courtyard!
Courtyard!

Of my apartment
Front DoorFront Door
Front Door

+ garden
Bedroom ViewBedroom View
Bedroom View

Late afternoon
DuskDusk
Dusk

Listening to the call to prayer out the living room window


12th June 2010

Wow (and thk god u r safe)
Wow that sounds like a long trip. I'm glad you got to see London a bit. I'm very jealous remembering back to our time there and how amazing London is. I would love to go back. You brief introduction to Jerusalem sounds very cool and very surreal. I can't wait to see more pictures and here more about your life there. We all miss you and glad u r safe and soundly in J-town.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb