Jom Kippoer


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Haifa
September 27th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jom Kippoer is the most important holiday for the Jews. From Rosh Hashana, which took place 10 days ago until today and tomorrow (Jom Kippoer) the Jewish people look back at the year that has passed. On Jom Kippoer the Jews fast for 25 hours. They don't eat, drink, use electricity (incl. watching tv) have sex, wash themselves or drive cars. Cars are not driven by anyone on Jom Kippoer. It is 25 hours of peace and quiet. It gives you time to reflect on the year that passed and ask for forgiveness to your family, friends and to God. Asking forgiveness is not the only thing, the fasting and the reflecting is supposed to make you aware of your actions and have compassion for other peoples actions. You are supposed to learn and grow from your mistakes so that you won't make the same ones in the year to come.

Personally I think Jom Kippoer is a beautiful day. I like the fact that the whole country is put on pause, it gives people the time to reflect on life. There is nothing to worry about, nowhere to go, nothing to do really. Today at 14pm I wanted to
The feasting clubThe feasting clubThe feasting club

in the afternoon after some movies and a round of poker
watch some television while I ate my lunch, but there was nothing on. All the channels said : 'closed because of jom kippoer'. I also wish I had rolerblades (which reminds me that I better get them for next year) because today there is not a single vehicle on the road. The roads are empty so you can go rolerblading on the highway even! I'm not really sure if it is aloud, but technically speeking it would be possible. Some people may see the fasting as a punishment, because it is fysically hurting their body to not eat or drink for 25 hours. On the other hand some people choose too look at it as a relief, because they don't have to worry about any daily things.

The end of Jom Kippoer is when you see three stars in the sky. At this point you can eat and drink again.

So how am I celebrating Jom Kippoer? I actually have a very special plan. Together with Roees friends Yuval and Itamar I'm going to feast instead of fast. We are going to have a 25hours movie night/day starting in the evening of Jom Kippoer. We went shopping earlier today and bought in lots of snacks so I'm definitely prepared for an awesome Jom Kippoer. Roee is joining the fasting group so he and his other friends will spend their day playing cards or games and reading books.

And finally: I want to say I'm sorry if I ever hurt any of you out there. I really miss you all and I cherish all the beautiful memories I have with you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

YohaiYohai
Yohai

he was fasting, but killing time with us by watching movies
MeMe
Me

reflecting on the movies we saw so far


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb