Caesarea (קֵיסָרְיָה‎)


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District »  Caesaria
August 26th 2010
Published: August 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CaesareaCaesareaCaesarea

I must thank Sahar for lettimg me use her camera so I could capture a few shots for you all.
So its been awhile since I've had a chance to give you all an update.
So far the heat has not resided and seems to continually grow stronger. I was speaking to an Israeli student who was studying for her entrance exams and the topic of the extreme heat came up and she told me:

"When you feel a breeze, you must to hold onto for as long as you can."

That's the truth!
Its crazy to think that school has already started without me in Boulder. I'm excited to see what happens back home but honestly I can't wait to start studying over here. I do miss the little perks at home, like $2 breakfast burritos and great tasting pizza!

I still do not have a clue what my schedule will look like here when classes begin in October, but for now, I'm not worried out about for everyone else in the program is in the same boat. There is only about a week and a half left of ulpan studies! Hopefully I'll be able to meet up with some fellow BUFFS (Carly Coons & Rachel Allen) that are studying at Hebrew University in Jerusalem.
ArchwaysArchwaysArchways

Anna Stein (Germany) and I stand under archways dating from around 11-1200 B.C.E during the crusader period.


Okay, so my latest adventure was up north in the ancient port-city named Caesarea. I was really excited for this trip since Caesarea is one of the places here in Israel that I have always wanted to check out. I would urge anyone to read up on it's history and learn about of its foundations that have survived throughout time.

Caesarea was third trip that University provided for us overseas students. I'm enjoying these field-trips for not only does it give you a firsthand experience to learn about the history of this land, but also allows you a great opportunity to connect with your fellow peers in the program.

Traveling Tip:

I would say that Caesarea deserves at least half a day to fully enjoy her ancient beauty. I would suggest going in the late afternoon and staying to watch the sunset over the Mediterranean. There are a few nice restaurants, a beach bar and its also great place to enjoy live music. Fun for all ages with an imagination and love for history.


Until next time,

Love from Israel and GO BUFFS!









Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

MosaicMosaic
Mosaic

This mosaic was near the bath house.
Fishing the Med. Fishing the Med.
Fishing the Med.

Fishing off the foundations of Caesarea


1st September 2010

Looks like you really enjoyed visiting Ceasarea. It looks like a beautiful place. Thanks for sending pix. Love you.
10th September 2010

Love these pictures. What an amazing place to visit.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb