Independence Day


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
July 4th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Independence Day in Kuwait. Not my first choice. I have a flight scheduled for tomorrow so I checked into the temporary billeting in Kuwait to get some much needed rest. I slept almost 8 hours catching up for the last 4 days. The base in Kuwait is much safer so it is a more relaxed environment. I put on my PT uniform and got out to explore what Independence Day activities that were being offered. Vanilla at best but one thing caught my eye. A hot dog eating contest. I had to go check this out. Hot dog gluttony in 120 degree heat. There were 10 contestants who ate about 6 dogs a piece -the winner took home a trophy with 8 and one half hotdogs. I felt a little queasy watching. Americans will bring their culture anywhere.
Hope everyone is having a good time at home today. I could really go for a beer and good steak. Look out when I get home. If you can’t find me I will be in the back yard.


Advertisement



10th August 2008

Independence Day
Seems that you are becoming an expert in patience! We all remembered you and your fellow soldiers, past and present, who have and are making the world a safer place to be!

Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb