Barbeque and Cigars


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq » West » Al Asad Airbase
June 1st 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The unit that is leaving is counting days until they leave. My unit members are counting days already - a little early and depressing if you ask me. My company commander is counting Cigars. He smokes on cigar a week on Fridays so he says, "39 cigars till we go home." I like that.
I have been busy at my new job but am coming along nicely. I have a great staff and hope to help them get even better. They will really help me do my job better than I could do alone. Our counterparts that we are replacing had a barbeque for my staff this evening. They bought steaks and potatoes. We grilled and talked for a few hours. It was a nice gesture and I really appeciated the thoughtfulness. For a brief moment I felt that we could have been in St. Marys in my backyard. Until a Medevac chopper dropped into the LZ. Yep still in Iraq. Oh well. I think that I will try to make the barbeque a monthly event. It was nice to see my staff smile and relax a little.
I am still waiting on a permanent address. The unit has published an address that belongs to the unit that we are replacing. The will change soon and I am fearful that anything sent is going to get lost. I really do not need anything that urgent that I cannot wait. I will update you all as soon as I get an address.

Advertisement



2nd June 2008

BBQ
How many Webers does it take to feed an army? You will need a continuing supply of Show Me. Will see what we can do. Glad you all had a little time to let down, albeit so little. In "39 cigars"you will be the ones throwing the farewell shindig! love.
7th June 2008

Your tour in Iraq
Dear Michael, Hey! I just got on the computer and read I think all of your blogs! Your mom forwarded them to me! We are soooo......proud of you and miss you! Congratulations on your promotion, that's great and says a lot for you! Sorry I haven't read these before now, but with little Andrew John coming, John coming home from Iraq, and getting the farm house ready for Greg, Carrie, and baby to move to Grandma Schad's farm house it's been crazy. If Melissa hasn't had the baby by Father's Day she will go in that evening and they will start to induce her, she's due the 12th. Hope Elisabeth and Kristen is doing well. We just picked up John on the 29th in Ky after his 24 hr flight home. Melissa was ecstatic!! I went with her to pick him up so she wasn't on the road by herself. Sound's like you have all the comforts of home--TV, fridges, beds, microwave what more could you ask for, HA! Let us know what you need! Seriously!!!!!! We do appreciate all the sevicemen do for our great country! Keep up the good work, but stay safe! It's 11:59 p.m. here, so I'd better go to sleep! Will try to write once a week! Love you! A. Amy

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb