Iran


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran
March 4th 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Iran 4 mar 2010

After leaving Doggybiscuit we said goodbye to out Latvian driver, Martin then spent a further 2 hours at the border getting our visas checked and having finger prints taken, which for those of you that know me will realise that taking my prints will have a certain effect of officialdom. So, picture this if you will……an ink pad, a piece of paper with 10 boxes for each print. Yep, 10 boxes……which for me is 2 too many!! Next was something almost out of some carry on movie with much discussion, hilarité and smiley faces all round as I try to explain that yes, i am missing 2 fingers and yes I was born like it and no ive not been tortured in some gang ritual!! Ha ha… it was all quite innocent fun and the officials were, to my surprise, very helpful. Not at all what I was expecting.

Tabriz
So, making our way to our first stop in Tabriz, Im struck by the change in landscape which has become more baron and mountainous. Upon reaching Tabriz we find our hotel, Hotel Daryra if ur interested, then head off into town for a wander. And
Local girls...Local girls...Local girls...

Locals we met on the Khaju Bridge, Esfehan
then it starts…..

….for pretty much the first time (save for a few times in Turkey) I begin to feel like someone famous for we are now being stared at….constantly. Girls glinglin, guys waving and shouting…..this is mad!!!! For a while it felt somewhat intimidating. Then I stop to look in some local shop and I get a tap on the back. I turn to find this Iranian guy, grinning ear to ear and introducing himself to me. ‘what is your name’ he enquires. ‘Hi, Im Wayne….very nice to meet you’. After such introductions he starts asking where I’m from, what do i think of Iran and Tabriz, why am i there etc etc being truly inquisitive of why there were westerners in Iran and keen to practice his already great command of English. During this conversation a small crowd had gathered as everyone seemed keen to meet these strangers to their shores and for a while i kept my hands in my pockets and on my wallet. But, these people were great, Friedel and welcomed me as their guest. I think I like Iran. No beer.

Zanjan
Up early for a trip to the Blue Mosque between
Khaju Bridge, EsfehanKhaju Bridge, EsfehanKhaju Bridge, Esfehan

This area was beautiful
Tabriz and Zanjan and Zanjan was to be another overnight stop on our way to Tehran. This place seemed more orderly and quieter than Tabriz and so after booking into the Tourist Inn we again went exploring. Surprisingly in the middle of the street was an outdoor gym! How random is that??? Again, I am struck by the friendliness of the locals as we’re again the subject of intrigue. More shouts of hello and welcome. Then again, another local stops us to ask questions and be, well, friendly. The guys English was incredible considering we were the first native English speakers that he’d ever conversed with….;and he learned English from Cds!!! Yep, I like Iran. Still no beer. Next stop, Tehran.

Tehran
And so here we are….Tehran. The place that was the subject of many news reports over the years and a place I was a little nervous about because of it. But, how wrong was I?? It was quite a surreal experience walking the Streets of Tehran and much much less attention! Had I’d just woken up here and went for a walk I would’ve sworn that I was in some other European city. In fact it was slightly disappointing, very blocky and seemed to lack imagination. Still, their Banana milkshake things were to die for!!! In addition we made friends with some of the Iranian boxing team as most of the teams and boxers in the Asian boxing championships where staying in our hotel. They were nice and polite and good fun. Another strange moment.

Esfahan
The road to Esfahan was again baron with a mountainous background with miles upon miles of waste land littered with small villages, the homes made from what i presume to be mud contrasted by the occasional large modern industrial unit just a few hundred yards away followed by the odd patch of green land, ploughed fields and trees. Further along more modern towns spring up from nowhere then come the bigger cities until we reach our destination, Esfahan, the former capital and know as the tourist city. Why? Mainly due to history behind the city and the number of historial buildings, mosques etc etc.

Wow! This place is great. A small bustling city with lots of energy and completely beautiful. Again, minimal expectation, maximum surprise. After booking into the hotel some exploration is required and so we head off to the river Zanjandeh and we re immédiate confronted by this beautiful and relaxing place. Plus the timing was perfect as its nearly Sunset and the birds are flying in formation back and forth over the river then the bridge lights come on ready for the perfect photo……..and then my camera packs up!!

During this time we begin to realise how popular we’ve suddenly become as everywhere we go were the centre of attention. So this is what it feels like to be famous?!! Seriously, it was crazy. Girls giggling and saying hello and welcome to Iran and guys being braver and coming over to chat. At one point I venture down to the river for some piece and quiet and a spot of sketching when I’m approached by 1 lad. He says hello then another turns up, then another until a small crowd of lads gather around me. Their English is limited and so the conversation stutters as i begin, for the first time, to feel slightly uneasy, so i turn the conversation to football and their faces light up; ah Steven Gerrard. He good yes? John Terry…he good too? I feel slightly better then they each shake my hand, wish me well and walk off.

The whole time spent in Esfahan was like this and I have to say I really like Iran and whilst not the usual holiday choice I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending you visit Iran.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 14; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb