Never ending sunshine in Cyprus


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Nicosia
March 20th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Central NicosiaCentral NicosiaCentral Nicosia

A very clean and organised city.
Turkish girls are very mysterious, constant reader. I flew from Van to Istanbul to catch a connection on the next flight bound for Cyprus. So anyways, the girl at the airport check in does her thing on the computer with passports and stuff, then while looking straight at me without talking she reaches towards my face. Self consciously I started flicking at my chin, as I'd just spent three days in Van without a mirror and god only knows how I looked. She keeps looking at me silently, reaches out further and lightly touches my hair with her hand. It was all very mysterious...

Cyprus itself just screams money, and I just scream! Having been let down by a failed wireless connection at the airport in Istanbul, I wasn't able to do any research on accommodation options prior to arrival. Never mind I thought, I'll just arrive cold without a guide book ... after all what can go wrong, right?! So I arrived at Ercan airport, and took the shuttle to Nicosia asking for budget accommodation. The Cypriots just looked at me like I was from Mars, and dropped me off at a hotel that may as well have been
St Sophia cathedral, NicosiaSt Sophia cathedral, NicosiaSt Sophia cathedral, Nicosia

This cathedral has a pristine white interior, and features Ottoman minarets added to the exterior.
on Mars for a budget traveller like me. But it was well after midnight and man I was buggered, so I girded my loins and strode boldly into the lobby of the Merit Crystal Cove hotel. Er, that is until I saw the lowest price at 130 Euros per night for a single room. Holy haircut batman, I'd just come from a hotel room in Van with my teeth loosened from the constant banging of my head on the five foot nothing doorframe, while growing accustomed to a squat toilet with a bucket ... and now I'd stumbled into a glammed up five star hotel that was putting on the ritz with heap big plenty razzle dazzle! The concierge must have realised how tightly my buttocks were clenched, because without too much drama he dropped the price to 100 Euros, then to 80 Euros. Yes, I'll admit it's true, when it comes to accommodation your faithful travel correspondent is a notorious tight ar...tist! Anyways, it was hard to fathom the complete turn around in room quality from one night to the next, but that very unpredictability is one of the joys of travelling.

So it seems there are only
Main square, NicosiaMain square, NicosiaMain square, Nicosia

A little fort leading in to the main street on another sunny day.
two options when travelling in Cyprus, you can choose to live like a king or live like a king. Now that was sorted it was time to get out and about, and to explore a little on this beautiful mediterranean island famed for it's lovely beaches in a romantic setting. Blow me down, the first thing I noticed were the cars driving on the left and British adaptor plugs. My experience is all former British colonies have a sense of order and wealth about them that is immediately apparent, and taking a stroll around Nicosia is no exception. After the somewhat chaotic travelling in Greece and Turkey, Cyprus feels like an oasis where they are just as happy to accept Euros as the Turkish lira in the northern area. My first kebab was very similar to what we are used to in western countries.

I strolled around the modern looking city centre, and checked out the Venetian Column the city is famed for. Then is was off to the St Sophia cathedral, which as per usual the Ottomans added to during their time on the island. The obligatory minarets and arabic plaques are such a feature of cathedrals in
Detail from St Sophia cathedralDetail from St Sophia cathedralDetail from St Sophia cathedral

Striking design on the facade of the cathedral.
Turkey, and the same applies to this gorgeous structure here in Nicosia. There are plenty of wonderful little stores to stroll around in the market area, and they were packed with tourists happily browsing the stores in a relaxed atmosphere. The Cypriots have first class english skills, which adds to the overall impression of a very relaxing and travel friendly tourist destination.

There is no avoiding the Cypriot question, which is so vexatious to the Greek and Turkish governments, and also to the UN. Obviously as a blogger I make a conscious effort to leave politics well enough alone, but suffice it to say that terrible events occurred on this beautiful island in the 1960's and 1970's that have not as yet been resolved to the satisfaction of both sides. The UN does not recognise the Turkish presence in northern Cyprus, but travellers to this part of Cyprus are surrounded by the fact every day. Today I decided to pay a visit to the Museum of barbarism which provided a sobering reminder of the horror and futility of war, regardless of where individual loyalties may lie. The Greek Cypriot majority and the Turkish Cypriot minority have binding ties to
Goods for saleGoods for saleGoods for sale

One of many wonderful stalls in the centre of town.
this wonderful island that stretch back many generations, and former British rule has left a superb level of infrastructure for all Cypriots to enjoy. My hope is for Greek and Turkish Cypriots to work towards forging a peaceful, prosperous and harmonious future here in this island paradise.

Now that my visit to Cyprus is drawing to a close, it's time to prepare for return flights towards home. There is a further day to look forward to in Istanbul, where I plan to hang at the super cool hostel that was the starting point for my wonderful visit to Turkey. Then there's an evening flight back to Athens for one last night at the super cool hostel where the entire trip to Greece and Turkey commenced. I'm thrilled to be in Cyprus to lap up the never ending sunshine in this glamorous and romantic island where, basically all of you should be here now!


A stand may be made against the invasion of an army; no stand can be made against invasion by an idea." Victor Hugo


It's home time so until next time, I'm signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

A gorgeous courtyardA gorgeous courtyard
A gorgeous courtyard

Customers enjoy a coffee in the sun around the courtyard.


19th March 2009

Love is in the air.
Cyprus is home to Aphrodite, the goddess of LOVE. Tom, did anything happen you're not letting is in on, hmmm. Pity you didn't go to Paphos & surrounds, it's a beautiful drive along the coast, & the blue water is deep dark & mysterious. Also, the Kykko Monastery, in the mountains is also a devine place to visit, & the mountain drive is the one of the purest and freshest in all of Europe, as there are severe cases of asthmatics who come to recuperiate from all over the world here. Yiasou Fili Mou.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb