Just a little delayed


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain
September 7th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gotcha!! You all thought I'd be in Delhi by now, recovering from my jetlag, huh? The flight from Paris to Bahrein had a delay of about 5 hours, and by the time we got to Bahrein, my flight to Delhi had already lifted off. The Gulf Air Customer Service people had however promised that the flight would have to wait for us... ah well, it's part of the deal, I have 9 months to go. A day more or less isn't going to make the difference, and besides, I did get a nice hotel room here in Bahrein, three good meals included (but Diet Coke was not included in the package - I should complain about that *wink*). The temperature is 40 degrees Celcius and very very humid. You wonder why they still have hammams here. I couldn't get my luggage taken off the plane. I was happy that I had put my sandals in my hand luggage though. Walking around in these sauna conditions is a challenge on itself. Oh and my first poo without toilet paper today.... hmm I hadn't even thought of that little detail as I entered the toilet. I realised it when the damage was already done. So I had the option of using my left hand in combination with there water hose, or the t-shirt I had taken off after I had bought a new one.... I combined the 2.

I got to explore Bahrein a little, but as a woman walking around alone, with no burka, I did get some very strange looks. Aside from myself, I hardly saw any women or kids on the streets. And most of the women that would be on the streets would be Indian, not Bahreini's. In the malls there are more women of course, one of them came up to me, took off her burka and sunglasses, and asked me if I knew anybody who would be interested to be an English teacher at her school. I am not, but just in case anybody else is, here is her e-mail address: lamalnoaimy@hotmail.com.
After lunch, I took a little siesta and left the airco off because it was getting cold in the room. By the time I woke up, the room was completely damp, similar to a bathroom after a shower. Walked all the way to the National Museum, and took a taxi back. He wanted to charge 5 Dinar, while several people had told me the cost would be around 2 or 2.5 Dinar. So I gave him my last Dinar notes, 3 Dinar. Still more what I had expected to pay.

Ok as the 0.4 Bahrein Dinar that are left only buy me 45 minutes in the internet cafe, I must end this first entry. Now off to (free) dinner in the hotel, get a shower, and get picked up by a shuttle bus to the airport around 21hrs30. Btw, eventhough the flight is 6 or 7 hours, the time difference between Belgium and Bahrein is only 1hr.

Cheers
Sabrina


Advertisement



7th September 2007

Hello Sabrina
SOOOO nice to hear that everything is going well, enjoy Bahrain, I REALLY like the arabic countries and have travled in several of them and would love to go again.:-) I have studied arabic for 2+ years, so I have to go there someday to keep up and not forget what I have learned. So next stop India huh? :-) Take care of yourself and talk to you soon :-) Niels says hello :-)
7th September 2007

just in case...
Hoi, if you want to, I can send you some toilet paper....have a nice trip and I hope to hear from you very soon. Your brother.
8th September 2007

oef.....
fijn dat ik je lees,het gaat dus wel goed ondanks wat kleine onge "makjes" ;-0 fijn je te lezen. dikke zoen, Rita

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb